H2Okies Announce 2016-17 Schedule

by SwimSwam 0

August 24th, 2016 ACC, College, News, Press Releases

BLACKSBURG – Virginia Tech swimming and diving head coach Ned Skinner has announced an impressive 2016-17 schedule that will pit the H2Okies against tough competition from the ACC and opponents! from the Power 5 conferences.

Both the men’s and women’s swimming programs registered top 25 finishes at the NCAA Championships last season and, along with diving head coach Ron Piemonte’s squad, return a solid core that will go up against the challenging schedule.

“I feel like this is one of the best schedules we have assembled,” said Skinner, who enters his 19th season leading the H2Okies. “We will face plenty of stern competition within the ACC as well as opponents from the other Power 5 conferences including the Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC.”

After an intraquad at the Christiansburg Aquatic Center on Sept. 23 at 4 p.m. and a trip to the FGCU Swimming Classic, the H2Okies will kick off the home slate against Penn State on Oct. 15 at 11 a.m. Tech will later face Cincinnati and Rutgers for Senior and Parents’ Weekend from January 20-21, one of Tech’s six regular-season events at the CAC this season.

The 2017 NCAA Zone A Diving Championships will be hosted by Tech and held at the CAC from March 6-8. The Diving Championships the H2Okies Fall Invitational from Nov. 17-19 will feature some of the nation’s top swimming and diving student-athletes.

“We continue to showcase the beautiful Christiansburg Aquatic Center as we host multiple home events and the Fall Invitational, which will feature representatives from seven different conferences,” Skinner said. “Starting the season in Florida will be a fun start for our swimmers and the sequences of meets heading into ACCs and NCAAs should prepare us well for the championship season.”

Tech returns three All-Americans from 2015-16 in seniors Brandon Fiala and Robert Owen and junior Klaudia Nazieblo. The H2Okies also saw multiple swimmers and divers gain valuable experience in the offseason at U.S. Olympic Swimming Trials, U.S. Open Swimming Championships and USA Diving National Championships.

Date VT Rank Opponent Time/Result TV Location
Intra-Quad
Fri., Sep 23, 2016 Intra-Quad 4 p.m. Christiansburg Aquatic Center
FGCU Swimming Classic
Fri., Oct 7, 2016 at FGCU Swimming Classic 5:30 p.m. Ft. Myers, Fla.
Sat., Oct 8, 2016 at FGCU Swimming Classic 10:30 a.m. Ft. Myers, Fla.
Sat., Oct 15, 2016 Penn State * 11 a.m. Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Fri., Oct 21, 2016 Duke with West Va and William and Mary * 5 p.m. Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Sat., Oct 22, 2016 Duke with West Va and William and Mary * 11 a.m. Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Fri., Nov 4, 2016 at Pittsburg with Notre Dame * TBA Pittsburgh, PA
Sat., Nov 5, 2016 at Pittsburg with Notre Dame * TBA Pittsburgh, PA
H2Okie Fall Invitational
Thu., Nov 17, 2016 H2Okie Fall Invitational All Day Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Fri., Nov 18, 2016 H2Okie Fall Invitational All Day Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Sat., Nov 19, 2016 H2Okie Fall Invitational All Day Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Mon., Jan 2, 2017 at Buffalo TBA Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Fri., Jan 6, 2017 Georgia Tech with Kentucky TBA Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Sat., Jan 7, 2017 Georgia Tech with Kentucky TBA Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Fri., Jan 13, 2017 at University of Virginia * 5 p.m. Charlottesville, VA
Sat., Jan 14, 2017 at University of Virginia * 11 a.m. Charlottesville, VA
Senior’s and Parent’s Weekend
Fri., Jan 20, 2017 University of Cincinnati with Rutgers (Women) 5 p.m. Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Sat., Jan 21, 2017 University of Cincinnati with Rutgers (Women) 10 a.m. Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Virginia Tech Invitational
Sat., Feb 4, 2017 Virginia Tech Invitational All Day Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Sun., Feb 5, 2017 Virginia Tech Invitational All Day Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Women’s ACC Championship
Wed., Feb 15, 2017 at Women’s ACC Championship All Day Greensboro, NC
Thu., Feb 16, 2017 at Women’s ACC Championship All Day Greensboro, NC
Fri., Feb 17, 2017 at Women’s ACC Championship All Day Greensboro, NC
Sat., Feb 18, 2017 at Women’s ACC Championship All Day Greensboro, NC
Men’s ACC Championship
Wed., Feb 22, 2017 at Men’s ACC Championship All Day Greensboro, NC
Thu., Feb 23, 2017 at Men’s ACC Championship All Day Greensboro, NC
Fri., Feb 24, 2017 at Men’s ACC Championship All Day Greensboro, NC
Sat., Feb 25, 2017 at Men’s ACC Championship All Day Greensboro, NC
NCAA Zone A Diving Championships
Mon., Mar 6, 2017 NCAA Zone A Diving Championships All Day Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Tue., Mar 7, 2017 NCAA Zone A Diving Championships All Day Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Wed., Mar 8, 2017 NCAA Zone A Diving Championships All Day Christiansburg Aquatic Center
Women’s NCAA Championships
Wed., Mar 15, 2017 at Women’s NCAA Championships All Day Indianapolis, Ind.
Thu., Mar 16, 2017 at Women’s NCAA Championships All Day Indianapolis, Ind.
Fri., Mar 17, 2017 at Women’s NCAA Championships All Day Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat., Mar 18, 2017 at Women’s NCAA Championships All Day Indianapolis, Ind.
Men’s NCAA Championships
Wed., Mar 22, 2017 at Men’s NCAA Championships All Day Indianapolis, Ind.
Thu., Mar 23, 2017 at Men’s NCAA Championships All Day Indianapolis, Ind.
Fri., Mar 24, 2017 at Men’s NCAA Championships All Day Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat., Mar 25, 2017 at Men’s NCAA Championships All Day Indianapolis, Ind.

This is courtesy of Virginia Tech Athletics.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

wpDiscuz