Georgia Men Add A Diver On Day 2 of Zone B Champs


  • Zones A, B, D & E: Monday, March 6 – Wednesday, March 8
  • Zone C: Thursday, March 9 – Saturday, March 11
  • Host schools:
    • Zone A: Virginia Tech
    • Zone B: Auburn
    • Zone C: Indiana
    • Zone D: Missouri
    • Zone E: Northern Arizona
  • NCAA selection primer

5th at last year’s NCAA Championships, the Georgia Bulldog men will add a diving threat to their 2017 NCAA roster after Ian Forlini qualified on day 2 of the Zone B meet.

Zone B results

As we’re SwimSwam and not DiveDove, our analysis of the Zone diving meets is focusing primarily on how diving could affect the team battles later this month. Forlini gives Georgia a potential NCAA scorer after taking 5th on 3-meter in a relatively tough Zone B.

Interestingly, the top three in the men’s event was exactly the same as it was last night on 1-meter. Miami’s Briadam Herrera won once again, followed by Tennessee’s Liam Stone and UNC’s Jack Nyquist. Meanwhile on the women’s side, none of the top 3 from yesterday’s 3-meter repeated their medal finish. That means more men are locked in for reimbursement slots from lower places, given the divers ahead of them doubling up.

For the women, Julia Vincent of South Carolina won the 1-meter event. In terms of the team race, North Carolina will now have two divers in the mix. Elissa Dawson is locked into a reimbursement slot and Maria Lohman made an eligibility spot on 1-meter tonight.

Priority Finisher Women Men
1 3-meter Champ Wallace Layland, MIA Briadam Herrera, MIA
2 1-meter Champ Julia Vincent, SCAR Briadam Herrera, MIA
3 Platform Champ
4 3-meter 2nd Elissa Dawson, UNC Liam Stone, TENN
5 1-meter 2nd Marcela Maric, MIA Liam Stone, TENN
6 Platform 2nd
7 3-meter 3rd Alison Maillard, AUB Jack Nyquist, UNC
8 1-meter 3rd Mikaela Lujan, SCAR Jack Nyquist, UNC
9 Platform 3rd
10 3-meter 4th Rachel Rubadue, TENN Pete Turnham, AUB
11 1-meter 4th Alison Maillard, AUB Charles Clifton, UGA
12 Platform 4th
13 3-meter 5th Molly Carlson, FSU Ian Forlini, UGA
14 1-meter 5th Elissa Dawson, UNC Sean Burston, UNC
15 Platform 5th
16 3-meter 6th Olivia Ball, UGA Scott Lazeroff, AUB
17 1-meter 6th Ayla Bonniwell, FSU Jordan Gotro, SCAR
18 Platform 6th
19 3-meter 7th Julia Vincent, SCAR Charles Clifton, UGA
20 1-meter 7th Maria Lohman, UNC Samuel Smith, FL
21 Platform 7th
22 3-meter 8th Victoria Moretti, FAU Tyler Roberge, FSU
23 1-meter 8th Wallace Layland, MIA Evan Moretti, DUKE
24 Platform 8th
25 3-meter 9th McKensi Austin, UGA Dylan Grisell, FSU
26 1-meter 9th Rachel Rubadue, TENN
27 Platform 9th
28 3-meter 10th Evan Moretti, DUKE
29 1-meter 10th Brooke Madden, FL
30 Platform 10th

(Athletes in bold are locked in for NCAA reimbursement. Athletes who have doubled up on qualifying spots are noted with a line through their lower priority slot.)


From our refresher post, which you can find here.

Divers qualify for the NCAA Championships through Zone Meets spread across the country. Each zone earns a set number of NCAA qualifying spots based on the performances of that Zone at NCAAs in the past.

Here are the qualifying spots for each event in each zone:


Zone A 5 7 6
Zone B 10 9 7
Zone C 8 9 6
Zone D 7 7 11
Zone E 11 9 11


Zone A 6 5 4
Zone B 8 10 9
Zone C 5 7 7
Zone D 8 9 9
Zone E 9 5 7

According to the rules set in 2015 that allowed more divers into the meet, any diver who lands in the qualifying spots for their zone earns a spot to compete in the NCAA Championships. If the diver earns eligibility in one event, they can automatically compete in any of the other two events at NCAAs as long as they finished in the top 12 in their zone in that event.

The NCAA made a distinction between “eligible” and “reimbursed” athletes. Divers qualifying outside of the reimbursement spots will not have their travel, lodging, or meet expenses covered by the NCAA.  Instead the individual school must decide if they’re willing to pay the bill themselves to give that diver an opportunity to participate in the NCAA Championships.

Zone A 5 5
Zone B 9 9
Zone C 8 6
Zone D 8 9
Zone E 11 6

A priority chart determines who gets the reimbursement spots. The first priority spot is taken by the winner of each event beginning with the 3-meter champ, followed by the 1-meter champ and then the platform champ. If an athlete wins two events, they will still only take up one slot which means the NCAA will keep adding rows to this chart until the zone meet reimbursement quota is met.

Leave a Reply

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!