FSU Swim & Dive Names Team Award Winners

by SwimSwam 0

April 25th, 2024 ACC, College, News

Courtesy: FSU Athletics

TALLAHASSEE –   The Florida State swimming and diving teams hosted the annual awards banquet on Wednesday night.

Head swimming and diving coach Neal Studd announced 13 award winners in six categories.

Hardest Worker – Jenny Halden | Max Wilson
A senior, Halden qualified for the NCAA Championships this season and was an ACC Championship finalist in the women’s 100 fly (51.99), where she placed eighth.

Wilson set the men’s school record in the 100 back (45.24) and as a part of the 400 medley relay (3:03.15). He also helped the Noles take home All-American honors in the 400 medley and 200 free relays at the NCAA Championships.

Freshman of the Year – Maysa Ratiu | Tobias Schulrath
Ratiu was a part of the 400 free relay that competed at the NCAA Championships. She also turned in the second-fastest time in the 200 free in program history at 1:46.21 after leading off the 800 free relay at the ACC Championship.

Schulrath swam the fly leg of the 400 medley relay that broke the school record, earning All-American honors behind a 12th-place finish.  He was also a part of the 200 medley relay that also placed 12th at the NCAA Championships.

Most Improved – Sydney ColeKayleigh Clark | Sam Bork
In her senior season, Cole swam best times at the ACC Championships where she placed 20th in the 200 back (1:56.45). She earned a second swim in the 400 IM (4:18.82) and competed in the 200 IM (1:59.60).  Her 200 back ranks eighth in program history.

Clark competed in two ACC Championship finals in her first meet appearance. Clark placed seventh on 1-meter (252.20) and fifth (252.62) on platform.

In his first ACC’s as a sophomore, Bork finished 19th in the 50 free (19.62) and he helped the Noles place fourth in the 200 medley relay, securing an NCAA automatic time standard. He was named to the All-ACC Academic Team.

Diver of the Year – Samantha Vear | David Vargas
Vear finished 15th on 3-meter at the NCAA Championships, tying for the second-highest finish in the event in program history. She also captured All-America honors for the second-straight season.  She also set the school record on 3-meter, scoring 380.18 at the Auburn First Chance Invite.

Vargas qualified for the NCAA Championships and finished 17th on platform after finishing fourth at the ACC Championships.  Vargas was also named to the All-ACC Academic Team.

Most Valuable  – Maddy Huggins | Peter Varjasi
Huggins captured her first All-America honors by finishing 15th in the 100 breast at the NCAA Championships. She swam in her first ACC Championship final, placing eighth in the 100 breast (1:00.05). She also swam the second-fastest time in school history in the 200 breast at NCAA’s (2:08.73)

Varjasi was a part of three program records, setting two individually, taking the 100 breast (51.07) and 100 free (41.86). Varjasi won bronze in the men’s 100 breast at ACC’s and went on to capture All-America honors behind a 13th-place finish.

Coaches’ Award –  Arianna Ottavianelli | Peter Varjasi
As a senior, Ottavianelli has been a staple in FSU SAAC, serving as vice president.  She spearheads all community service efforts for the women’s swimming and diving team. During her career, Ottavianelli has been awarded the ACC Top 6 for Service honor and has won the Doc’ Fauls Rise Above Adversity Award.

Varjasi became the third Seminole in program history to final in five different events over his career after he finished third in the 100 breast at the 2024 ACC’s. He was the first to accomplish the feat since 2014, when the ACC included Pittsburgh, Louisville and Notre Dame.

The team captains for the 2024-25 season were announced. Mason HerbetDavid QuirieTommaso Baravelli and Wilson were selected by their teammates to lead the men’s team, while Edith Jernsetdt, Gloria MuzitoElla Dyjak, and Victoria Cervantes were chosen for the women.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments