All the Links You Need to Follow the 2019 U.S. Swimming National Championships

2019 PHILLIPS 66 NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS

How/Where to Watch

In summary: the entire meet will be either live streamed, or live streamed AND televised, or live streamed AND televised AND re-aired on taped delay. Prelims are free to watch on USASwimming.org, as are B finals. To watch A finals, you would need access to NBCSports.com and/or Olympicchannel.com.

Time Zones

Prelims will run every day of the meet, and will begin at 9AM US Pacific Coast time. Finals will begin daily at 5PM US Pacific Coast time (17:00 on a 24-hour clock).

Prelims Finals
US Pacific Time 9:00 AM 5:00 PM (17:00)
US Mountain Time 10:00 AM 6:00 PM (18:00)
US Central Time 11:00 AM 7:00 PM (19:00)
US Eastern Time 12:00:00 PM (noon) 8:00 PM (20:00)
Rio Time 1:00PM (13:00) 9:00 PM (21:00)
London/Central European Time 5:00 PM (17:00) 1:00:00 AM (next day)
South Africa Time 6:00 PM (18:00) 2:00:00 AM (next day)
Moscow Time 7:00 PM (19:00) 3:00:00 AM (next day)
Gwangju/Tokyo Time 1:00 AM (next day) 9:00 AM (next day)
Sydney Time 2:00 AM (next day) 10:00 AM (next day)

Selections

The two big ones selected from this meet are the US National Team (partial) and the US team for the World Junior Swimming Championships. Read more about that here:

Finals

D finals are limited to the top 18 and under US athletes who do not qualify for the “A,” “B,” and “C” finals. Foreign swimmers are eligible for A, B, and C finals, but not the D final.

Updated Psych Sheets

The link above includes the updated psych sheets. There weren’t many changes that should staggeringly impact the race for national titles or even A final spots. The most significant were the entries of Braden Vines from the University of Texas to the 200 breast, 200 IM, and 400 IM, and Clayton Forde adding the 200 IM to his existing schedule. That, and updating to add the World Records set at the end of the World Championships, including from Regan Smith in the 100 and 200 backstrokes.

Other scratches we saw on a scan:

  • See all of the details and where to watch each session here.
  • Nicole Oliva scratched from women’s 100 free (#100 seed), women’s 800 free (#47 seed), women’s 200 free (#43 seed), and women’s 400 free (#53 seed)
  • Will Gallant added to men’s 400 free (#73 seed), 800 free (#30 seed), men’s 1500 free (#25 seed)
  • Braden Vines added to men’s 200 breaststroke (#36 seed), men’s 400 IM (#56 seed), and men’s 200 IM (#23 seed)
  • Sarah Thompson added to 200 back – #52 seed
  • Aislin Farris added to 200 back (#64 seed) and 400 IM (#86 seed)
  • Mia Chang added to women’s 200 back (#80), women’s 200 IM (#105)
  • Eleanor Sun scratched from women’s 400 IM – #41, her only event
  • Allie Piccirillo scratched from women’s 400 IM (#85 seed), 200 fly (#21 seed), and 100 fly (#107 seed)
  • Margaret Guanci added to women’s 100 back – #82 seed
  • Benjamin Ho scratched men’s 100 back – #50 seed, his only event
  • Samantha Baron added to women’s 200 IM – #72 seed
  • Clayton Forde added to men’s 200 IMM – #46 seed
  • Gabriel Parnell added to men’s 200 IM – #55 seed

7
Leave a Reply

5 Comment threads
2 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Prosse

Any chance of watching replays of the prelims? Im in europe and cant watch them live

Gerson

Can’t watch live from Australia either.

Giesen

Can’t watch from Canada either

T J

Does anyone know how I can get the Omega timing live results? I tried last night and this morning and don’t know what I’m doing wrong. When I click the results link in this article it takes me to the Omega results page but it is blank. When I click the results tab for the championships on the Omega timing site directly, it takes me to some type of login page. Help would be appreciated!

Mary Linn

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!