2015 Men’s B1G Championships: Day 4 Prelims Heat Sheet Review

by Ian Murphy 0

February 28th, 2015 Big Ten, College, Previews & Recaps

Ohio State scored two big wins in the finals last night from Matt McHugh in the 100 fly and Josh Fleagle in the 200 freestyle. However, the Michigan Wolverines hold an 81 point advantage over the Buckeyes. McHugh pulled the 100 fly, 100 back double last night, and he is not listed on the prelims heat sheet this morning.  Aaron Whitaker of Michigan did the same, but is listed in the 200 backstroke this morning


Order of Events 

  • 200 backstroke
  • 100 freestyle
  • 200 breaststroke
  • 200 butterfly
  • Platform Diving

200 Backstroke- Drew Teduits enters as the only swimmer with an NCAA A cut, and the only swimmer under 1:40 in the Big Ten this season. The Wisconsin senior is the favorite to win the event, but don’t count out Iowa’s Grant Betulius or Penn State’s Nate Savoy. Savoy toppled his Penn State teammate Shane Ryan to win the 100 backstroke on Friday, and will be looking to add to his medal haul. Lining up in heat five next to Teduits are Michigan freshman Tristan Sanders and Teduits Wisconsin teammate Austin Byrd. Ohio State’s Rowan Williams could also make the A final, from lane five in heat four, and don’t count out Whitaker, who will swim with no seed time from heat one.

100 freestyle- Anze Tavcar will take to the pool as the top seed in the 100 freestyle by just .06 hundredths of a second. Fleagle, who is swimming lights out these championships, is the number two seed overall with a 43:09, and Minnesota’s Daryl Turner is right behind those two with a 43.19. Michael Disalle of Ohio State and Bruno Ortiz will line up on either side of Tavcar, while Cannon Clifton and Paul Powers will take lane five in heat seven and six respectively. Defending champion Ryan will swim from  lane three in heat seven.

200 breaststroke- Seven of last years A finalists are back this season, with only Indiana’s Cody Miller, the champion a year ago, graduating. Purdue freshman Marat Amaltdinov is the top seed in 1:54.46. His purdue teammate Liam Dias, runner up a year ago, will swim heat four, lane four with a 1:55.22 seed. Nick Shafer of Wisconsin comes in as the number two seed with a 1:54.92. Richard Funk, Matthew McNamara, Chris Klein, and DJ MacDonald all made the A final last year and will swim from the circle seeded heats.

200 butterfly- Dylan Bosch enters as the only swimmer with an NCAA A cut, and has a three second advantage over number two seed Jerzy Twarowski of Iowa. Tamas Gercsak of Ohio State is seed third, and will sim in lane four of the circle seeded heats. Last year’s thir place finisher, Steve Schmuhl of Indiana, will swim in heat four of five, lane six. Michigan’s Peter Brumm, who finished fourth last season, is listed in the 100 freestyle, rather than the 200 fly. Nick Orf, the only freshman in the A final last season, will swim in heat three, lane seven.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments