2015 Arena Pro Swim Series Santa Clara: Day Two Prelims Live Recap



Taking the top morning time was the Iron Lady Katinka Hosszu with an impressive 1:56.95. She won the final heat ahead of the Netherlands’ Femke Heemskerk (1:57.61) who happens to hold the world’s top time this year.

Allison Schmitt and Missy Franklin are seeded third and fourth with times of 1:58.51 and 1:58.78 after they battled in heat 11, followed closely by Simone Manuel (1:59.11), who looks like she might have enough endurance to contend for an 800 free relay spot come Rio.

Also dipping below 2 minutes were 17 year old Katie Drabot (1:59.78) and Elizabeth Pelton (1:59.86). Rounding out the A finalists for tonight’s session will be Camille Cheng (2:00.04) and Emily Overholt (2:00.11).

Leading the B final is NBAC’s Cierra Runge with her morning time of 2:00.56.


All eyes were on Michael Phelps as he dove in for the last heat of the 200 free. Looking smooth, turning in a 53.00 at the halfway mark, but Nikita Lobintsev edged him out at the wall, 1:49.02 to 1:49.26. Kyle Whitaker dominated heat 14 with a 1:49.31– that puts him as the third seed tonight.

Following closely in 4th, 5th, and 6th are Connor Jaeger (1:49.51), Mitch D’Arrigo (1:49.69) and Clark Smith (1:49.76). Smith was the first swimmer in prelims to break 1:50.

Ryan Murphy can still swim freestyle– he is seeded 7th in finals with a 1:50.43, followed by Matias Koski in 1:50.47 and Michael Klueh in 1:50.51.

Leading the B final tonight is Federico Grabich of Argentina (1:50.53).


Taking the top time in the morning was Trojan’s Yulia Efimova in 1:07.51, with Alia Atkinson not far behind in 1:08.55. Jessica Hardy was the top American swimmer this morning (1:09.02), with Laura Sogar of Bluefish Aquatics in tow (1:09.08).

The rest of the A final is made up of 1:09’s, making for what should be a tight race behind the likes of Efimova and Atkinson. Fiona Doyle (1:09.22) and Hilda Luthersdottir (1:09.30) are close behind Sogar. Sarah Haase (1:09.35), Haley Spencer (1:09.53) and Laura Lindsay (1:09.97) make up the remainder of the A final.

Annie Lazor of Auburn leads the B final tonight with her morning swim of 1:10.43.


Cody Miller zoomed to the top seed going into finals, touching the wall at 1:00.02, almost eclipsing his season best from the Arena Pro Swim Series at Orlando. Finishing 2nd this morning was Felipe Lima of Brazil (1:01.19). Miller and Lima were the only swimmers to break 1:02.

Josh Prenot (1:02.20) led a slew of 1:02’s this morning. Following him was Glenn Snyders (1:02.36), Jorge Murillo Valdes (1:02.38), and 16 year old Michael Andrew (1:02.47). Carlos Claverie and Youssef El Kamash tied for the 7th seed in 1:02.65, and rounding out the A final is Mike Alexandrov (1:02.72).

Leadin the B final will be Nick Schafer of Wisconsin (1:02.73). Notably, Kevin Cordes shows up as NS on Meet Mobile.


Rachel Bootsma, U.S. record holder in the event, won prelims in 28.28, just edging Brazilian Etiene Medeiros (28.33). Placing third in the morning was Natalie Coughlin in 28.71, followed by Elizabeth Pelton (28.91) and Missy Franklin (29.23).

Fernanda Ramirez Gonzalez was 6th (29.38) in front of Iryna Glavnyk (29.40). Bunched up right behind them were two members of Stanford Swimming, Felicia Lee (29.42) and Maya DiRado (29.43).

Janet Hu (29.44) sits atop the B final for tonight.


Junya Koga rocked a 24.87 in prelims to post the only time under 25 seconds. 2nd this morning was Russian sprinter Vlad Morozov (25.46), followed by Americans Matt Grevers (25.61) and David Plummer (25.65).

Eugene Godsoe was 25.74, leading Ryan Murphy (25.87), Adam Mani (25.93) and Miguel Ortiz (25.94) under the 26 second barrier. Rounding out the A final was Nick Thoman (26.10).

Guy Barnea is the top seed in the B final for tonight with his morning swim of 26.11.


The top time this morning was Farida Osman in 59.10. The NCAA All-American in the 100y fly sits ahead of Daynara De Paula (59.59) and Felicia Lee (59.64). Also getting under the minute barrier was Kelly Naze (59.72).

Hellen Moffitt grabbed the fifth seed in the A final with a new personal best of 1:00.04, nearly breaking a minute, followed by Lauren Case (1:00.22) and Aliena Schmidtke (1:00.28). Next was Lisa Boyce (1:00.34), and Ivy Martin took the 9th and final spot in the A final (1:00.71).

Bailey Nero is the top seed in the B final (1:00.73).


No Phelps in the 100 fly (yep, you read that right), and it was Giles Smith who flew past Tom Shields in the last 15 meters of the final heat this morning for the top time. Smith went 52.39 to Shields’ 52.68, with Henrique Martins (52.72) in hot pursuit.

Kaio Almeida (53.30) and Santiago Grassi (53.39) were next, followed by Tripp Cooper (53.47). Cal’s Seth Stubblefield (53.62) finished just ahead of Eugene Godsoe (53.65) as Stubblefield’s teammate Justin Lynch (53.70) rounded out the A final.

Arthur Mendes (53.71) was just a hundredth shy of tying for the last spot in finals, but he will have to settle for the top seed in the B final.


With the five fastest heats gone, one thing is for sure: the Iron Lady, Katinka Hosszu, is the new U.S. Open record holder in the 400 meter IM after her prelims race. The previous record belonged to Katie Hoff (4:31.12), and was done at the 2008 Olympic Trials. Hosszu, with that swim, solidified herself as the fastest IM’er on American soil; she also holds the U.S. Open record in the 200 IM from her swim at the Charlotte Pro Swim Series last month. Barring an inconceivable time drop from a swimmer in the later, slower heats (they put the two slowest heats at the end of the session), Hosszu is your leader going into finals.

The rest of the A final: Emily Overholt (4:40.95) followed by Caitlin Leverenz (4:43.16) and Becca Mann (4:44.60). Next is Lindsey Clary (4:47.59) with a new personal best by almost four seconds, Madisyn Cox (4:48.10), Marni Oldershaw (4:48.41), and Virginia Bardach (4:49.03). Celina Li of Cal Aquatics finished 9th in prelims (4:49.46) for the last spot in finals.

Atop the B final is Hannah Moore (4:50.74). Notably, Brooke Zeiger had a fantastic swim of 4:41.20, which would have been a personal best by a good margin. However, unofficially, Meet Mobile lists her as having DQ’d that race. She would have been seeded 3rd ahead of Leverenz.

MEN’S 400 IM

Putting up the fastest times of the morning were four talented IMers led by youngster Gunnar Bentz (4:21.39). Following very closely behind were Tyler Clary (4:21.43), Josh Prenot (4:21.47) and Max Williamson (4:21.53).

Chase Kalisz, American Record holder in the yards version of this event, is seeded 5th going into finals (4:22.72). Next is Curtis Ogren (4:24.02), just ahead of Wisconsin Aquatics’ Michael Weiss (4:25.38) and Yale’s Kei Hyogo (4:25.49). Finally, Brazilian Thiago Pereira rounds out the A final for tonight (4:26.19).

In This Story

Leave a Reply

23 Comment threads
18 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
24 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

This live feed is horrible. The live stream from Singapore was of better quality. So sad.


Are they not doing the A and B flights here?

There weren’t enough heats to make it worth it so they decided to just run them all together.

We Love Phelps

Allison Schmitt wins heat 11…her freestyle looks really good…1:58.51
Franklin 1:58.78


Love Phelps, got it. Anyone else?.


not too bad for a morning heat in her first meet in three months. hopefully she can keep up with hoszu and heemskerk in the final.

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!