Brittany Maclean Wins SEC Women’s Swimmer of the Year Award

The SEC has named its female swimmers and divers of the year. Leading the way is Georgia’s Brittany Maclean, who has battled back from a rough 2014-15 and destroyed the field in the 200, 500, and 1650 freestyle races at the 2016 SEC Champs. She also won the 200 free at NCAAs in upset fashion. Texas A&M’s Sydney Pickrem picked up honors as freshman swimmer of the year, after winning the 400 IM SEC title and adding a 2nd place finish in the 200 breast and a 5th place finish in the 200 IM.

SEC Women’s Swimming/Diving Awards

Female Swimmer of the Year: Brittany MacLean, Georgia

Female Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Sydney Pickrem, Texas A&M

Female Diver of the Year: Kahlia Warner, Florida

Female Freshman Diver of the Year: Rachel Rubadue, Tennessee

Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Danielle Galyer, Kentucky


Natalie Hinds, Florida
Kahlia Warner, Florida
Emily Cameron, Georgia
Hali Flickinger, Georgia
Shauna Lee, Georgia
Brittany MacLean, Georgia
Meaghan Raab, Georgia
Olivia Smoliga, Georgia
Kylie Stewart, Georgia
Katharine Ross, Missouri
Madeline Banic, Tennessee
Harper Bruens, Tennessee
Faith Johnson, Tennessee
Rachel Rubadue, Tennessee
Kira Toussaint, Tennessee
Lisa Bratton, Texas A&M
Jorie Caneta, Texas A&M
Bethany Galat, Texas A&M
Béryl Gastaldello, Texas A&M
Sarah Gibson, Texas A&M
Sydney Pickrem, Texas A&M

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »