Iowa And Denver Battle For Lead Through Day 2 of Hawkeye Invitational

by Konner Scott 1

December 05th, 2015 Big Ten, College, Previews & Recaps

Live Results

Video Highlights

Iowa has moved into first place in both meets after the second finals session. On the women’s side, the Hawkeyes retain nearly a 100 point lead on Denver, scoring 621 to Denver’s 524. The Iowa men, however, lead Denver by a mere fourteen points (638-624).

200 Medley Relay

Iowa kicked the session off with a win in the 200 medley relay, courtesy of Allison Orvis, Emma Sougstad, Kelly McNamara, and Olivia Kabacinski. A strong breaststroke split of 27.20 from Sougstad combined with McNamara’s 23.86 fly split propelled the Hawkeyes to victory in 1:39.47. They were followed by Denver in 1:41.34 and Iowa’s B team in 1:42.61.

The men’s relay also went to Iowa but in a much closer race. The crew of Kenneth Mende, Roman Trussov, Jerzy Twarowski, and Jack Smith scored a victory over Denver 1:26.48 to 1:26.89. A 23.91 split from Trussov and a 19.36 anchor from Smith clinched the victory. Iowa’s B team finished third in 1:28.94.

400 IM

Denver’s Madeline Myers dominated the 400 IM with a new best time and meet record of 4:11.34. After missing NCAA’s last year, Myers’s time from tonight would have qualified for the 2015 meet by over a half second. Bailey Anderson (4:15.58), Morgan McCormick (4:19.15), and Clara Jenck completed a one-two-three-four sweep for Denver. Iowa’s Devin Jacobs finished fifth.

David Moore won a one-two charge from Incarnate Word to win the 400 IM. Moore was the only swimmer to slip under 3:50 in 3:48.58. His teammate Beau Fusilier touched second in 3:50.80 ahead of Denver’s Kyle Ewoldt (3:52.53) and Dylan Bunch (3:54.97).

100 Fly

After turning first at the 50, Iowa’s Kelly McNamara held off a charging Heidi Bradley from Denver to win the 100 fly by a hundredth of a second. McNamara and Bradley finished in 54.22 and 54.23, followed by the Hawkeyes’ Mekenna Scheitlin (54.84) and Tereysa Lehnertz (54.94). McNamara’s morning swim (53.90) established a new Iowa school record, sneaking under Carly O’Brien’s record-breaking swim from last year.

Iowa’s Jerzy Twarowski and Denver’s Kyle Robrock locked horns in the 100 fly with Twarowski sneaking under 47 for the win in 46.97. Robrock touched a hair back in 47.15 ahead of Iowa’s Jackson Allen (47.78). Denver’s Clare Guillory picked up fourth place.

200 Free

Iowa senior Olivia Kabacinski owned the 200, leading from start to finish to win the race in 1:48.14. Harvard’s Daniela Johnson and Denver’s Alexandra Malazdrewicz also finished under the 1:50 mark in 1:49.44 and 1:49.77. Wisconsin-Milwaukee picked up a fourth place finish with a 1:50.57 from Amanda Siehs.

Ryno Bornman and Luke Williams of Denver took complete control of the 200 and conquered the top two spots. Bornman’s 1:35.87 marked his second time under 1:36 today while Williams held off Drury’s Dan Rzadkowski, touching 1:37.62 to 1:38.01.

Iowa’s David Ernstsson and Kyle Gannon were in the fray as well, finishing in 1:38.31 and 1:38.35. Notably, Iowa’s Jack Smith swam a 1:37.80 in the B final that would have placed third in the final heat.

100 Breast

Emma Sougstad fired off a fast last 25 to take the win in the 100 breast over Denver’s Amanda Sanders. The pair finished in 1:00.41 and 1:01.16 to touch over Iowa’s Shea Hoyt (1:02.40). North Dakota claimed the fourth place finish with Stephanie Frey‘s 1:02.87.

Iowa’s Roman Trussov and Denver’s Timothy Cottam both swam under 54 seconds tonight, but Trussov claimed the win in a decisive 53.32 over Cottam’s 53.92. Iowa’s Michael Nelson out touched Denver’s Clare Guillory for third. The pair finished in 54.83 and 55.16.

100 Back

Meghan Lavelle of Iowa held her top spot tonight, touching first in 54.31. Harvard’s Maria Cominelli placed second in 54.72 to hold off Denver’s Morgan McCormick (55.06). Allison Orvis picked up an additional fourth-place finish for the Hawkeyes in 55.32.

After getting touched out in the 100 fly, Kyle Robrock came back with a vengeance, winning the 100 back in a new lifetime best by a second and a half. Robrock’s time of 46.84 beat out Iowa’s Kenneth Mende (47.83) and Denver’s Jared Smith (49.13) for the victory.


Anna Filipcic won her second diving event in as many days, clinching the three-meter with 313.10 points. She took the title over Iowa’s Lydia Lehnert (296.00) and Iowa State’s Elyse Brouillette (289.20). William BrennerBrandis Heffner, Addison Boschult, and Andrew Hull completed a one-two-three-four sweep in the men’s one-meter. Brenner won with a score of 365.00.

800 Free Relay

Denver’s Madeline Myers and Iowa’s Olivia Kabacinski both put together 1:48 splits on the second leg of their relays, but Denver came away victorious. The team of Alexandra Malazdrewicz, Myers, Lauren Moden, and Zoe Huddleston finished in 7:23.06 to take down Iowa’s 7:25.33. The Denver men took their 800 free relay due in part to Ryno Bornman’s 1:36.27 lead-off split. Incarnate Word finished second, followed by the Denver B relay.

Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Was Robrock’s time an invite time (50 free) last year?

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!