Indiana Sweeps Big Ten Men’s Swimming & Diving Postseason Awards

by SwimSwam 3

March 29th, 2023 Big Ten, College, News

Courtesy: Big Ten

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its 2023 Big Ten Men’s Swimming postseason award recipients on Wednesday, as selected by the conference’s head coaches.

Indiana’s Brendan Burns was named Swimmer of the Year, while teammate Andrew Capobianco was selected as Diver of the Year. The Hoosiers’ Ray Looze and Drew Johansen were also named Men’s Swim and Diving Coaches of the Year.

This is the fourth Diver of the Year accolade for Capobianco and third in a row, while Burns earns his second Straight Swimmer of the Year honor. Looze collects his seventh Big Ten Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year accolade, with Johansen scoring his fourth Diving Coach of the Year award.

Burns captured the NCAA 100-yard backstroke championship, posting a program record time of 43.61. The title marked the second of Burns’ career after winning the 200-yard butterfly in 2022. The senior added a runner-up finish in the event and collected six All-America accolades this year.

Capobianco capped his collegiate career with his third NCAA three-meter diving crown and a silver medal in the one-meter springboard. The senior closes this chapter of his career as a three-time national champion, six-time NCAA medalist and 12-time All-American.

Looze led the Hoosiers to a fourth place finish at last week’s 2023 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships last weekend, the program’s fourth top five finish in the last five years. The Hoosiers collected three national championships among their 10 medals and amassed 37 All-America honors.

Johansen directed the Indiana divers to five medals and six All-America honors at the national championship meet, including a pair of individual titles by Capobianco and Carson Tyler (one-meter springboard). The Hoosiers’ four divers, Copabianco, Tyler, Quinn Henninger and Maxwell Weinrich, accounted for 104 of Indiana’s 379 points at the meet, 32.5 points more than any other diving team.

Looze, Johansen and the Hoosiers also claimed their 29th Big Ten championship in February, outpacing Ohio State by more than 300 points. Indiana earned 27 medals, 11 individual Big Ten Championships and broke nine pool records over the four days of competition.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
James Beam
1 year ago

Very impressive season. Ray and Drew have a great thing going.

Reply to  James Beam
1 year ago

will be interesting to see if all the assistants/associates stay

Reply to  Observing
1 year ago

I know for a fact they are not and for good reasons. Wait and you’ll see.