Indiana Punches 3 More Tickets, Ups Tally to 8 Divers Headed to NCAAs on Day 2 at Zone C

by Riley Overend 0

March 11th, 2023 Big Ten, College, Diving, News


  • March 9-11, 2023
  • Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center – Bloomington, Indiana
  • Host: Indiana University, Bloomington
  • Qualifiers
  • Preview
  • Day 1 Recap

Indiana’s diving squad continued its tear during the second day of the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships on Friday. 

After qualifying five divers on Thursday, the Hoosiers punched three more tickets to the NCAA Championships with Maxwell Weinrich making it as the No. 7 seed on the men’s 3-meter and Megan Carter and Alaina Heyde booking spots on the women’s 1-meter. 

Weinrich placed 11th during Thursday’s 1-meter final, so the freshman still needed a top-eight finish to qualify for his first NCAAs. He sat just outside the bubble in ninth place heading into the final round, when he executed a 5154B for 74.80 points to bump him up to seventh. The automatic qualification inside the top eight means Weinrich can also compete in the 1-meter thanks to his top-12 finish. 

Indiana sophomore Carson Tyler, sophomore Quinn Henninger, redshirt senior Andrew Capobianco, junior Anne Fowler, and sophomore Skyler Liu all earned their second automatic qualifications on Friday. 

Ohio State also enjoyed a big day, qualifying two men on the 3-meter (third seed Lyle Yost and fourth seed Clayton Chaplin) and two women on the 1-meter (second seed Lena Hentschel and eighth seed Jackie Brenn). That ups the Buckeyes’ tally to five divers headed to NCAAs after Jack Matthews also qualified in the men’s 1-meter on Thursday. Matthews missed an automatic qualification in the 3-meter with his 10th-place finish, but he’ll still be eligible for that event at NCAAs since he placed inside the top 12. 

The Zone C meet will wrap up on Saturday with both the men and women contesting the platform diving event. The men will start the action at 11 a.m. ET. 

Men’s 3-Meter Qualifiers

  1. Carson Tyler (IND) – 824.10
  2. Quentin Henninger (IND) – 821.65
  3. Lyle Yost (OSU) – 766.15
  4. Clayton Chaplin (OSU) – 764.15
  5. Andrew Capobianco (IND) – 757.45
  6. Sam Bennett (PUR) – 746.45
  7. Maxwell Weinrich (IND) – 740.75
  8. Jordan Rzepka (PUR) – 738.60

Women’s 1-Meter Qualifiers

  1. Anne Fowler (IND) – 625.65
  2. Lena Hentschel (OSU) – 609.30
  3. Skyler Liu (IND) – 603.95
  4. Kyndal Knight (UK) – 595.15
  5. Kiarra Milligan (MICH) – 588.70
  6. Megan Carter (IND) – 570.15
  7. Caroline Brady (ND) – 567.85
  8. Jacqueline Brenn (OSU) – 545.95
  9. Alaina Heyde (IND) – 541.30
  10. Lindsay Gizzi (UL) – 540.55


You can read a more in-depth look at the selection process here.

Effectively, each zone earns a specific number of qualifying spots in each event, based on how that Zone performed at NCAAs last year. Divers who place inside the qualifying places earn an NCAA invite. A diver invited in one event can compete at NCAAs in any other diving event where they were top 12 in their Zone meet.

The highest-placing divers earn NCAA reimbursement, while lower-placing qualifiers can compete at NCAAs, but their school must pay for their travel and lodging at the meet.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Riley Overend

Riley is an associate editor interested in the stories taking place outside of the pool just as much as the drama between the lane lines. A 2019 graduate of Boston College, he arrived at SwimSwam in April of 2022 after three years as a sports reporter and sports editor at newspapers …

Read More »