Four Countries Capture Gold At 2017 Diving Grand Prix

by SwimSwam 0

May 28th, 2017 Diving, News

Canada, China, Italy and Mexico were the four nations grabbing a gold medal this weekend in the Spanish capital at the fourth leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2017.

Italy’s Giovanni Tocci took gold in the 3m springboard with 419.55 points, defeating experienced diver Francois Imbeau-Dulac of Canada (417.55) and Nicolas Garcia (ESP, 375.90).

The latter ranked second in the 3m synchronised event with brother Hector (384.72), behind the Canadians Francois Imbeau-Dulac / Peter Thach Mai (388.59) but in front of the Swiss Simon Rieckhoff / Guillaume Dutoit (369.90).

Mexico’s Randal Willars Valdez was the best in the platform event with 432.30, while teammate Kevin Berlin Reyes took silver (396.60) and Great Britain’s Aidan Heslop bronze (391.15).

Berlin Reyes paired with Jose Diego Balleza Isaias to win the 10m synchro in 388.50. Vladimir Harutyunyan / Azat Harutyunyan of Armenia came second (371.88) and Adim Kaptur / Artsiom Barouski (BLR, 358.08) completed the podium.

In the women’s competition, Canada’s Pamela Ware, a three-time Olympian, captured the gold on offer in the 3m, defeating USA’s Maria Coburn (295.70) and Inge Jansen (NED, 295.60).

China then topped both the 10m individual and synchro events with Zhang Jiaqi (382.72) and Zhang Minjie who paired with her for the synchronised 10m (347.28). The latter came second in the 10m with 355.70, in front of Canada’s Olivia Chamandy (325.55).

Chamandy however was more successful in the 3m synchro with teammate Mia Vallee as the pair took gold (267.78), followed by duets from the Netherlands (267.00) and Hungary (231.12).

The Grand Prix will next stop in Bolzano (ITA) on July 5-7.

Medallists in Madrid

3m – 1. Giovanni Tocci (ITA) 419.55; 2. Francois Imbeau-Dulac (CAN) 417.55; 3. Nicolas Garcia (ESP) 375.90
10m – 1. Randal Willars Valdez (MEX) 432.30; 2. Kevin Berlin Reyes (MEX) 396.60; 3. Aidan Heslop (GBR) 391.15
3m synchro – 1. Francois Imbeau-Dulac / Peter Thach Mai (CAN) 388.59; 2. Hector Garcia / Nicolas Garcia (ESP) 384.72; 3. Simon Rieckhoff / Guillaume Dutoit (SUI) 369.90
10m synchro – 1. Kevin Berlin Reyes / Jose Diego Balleza Isaias (MEX) 388.50; 2. Vladimir Harutyunyan / Azat Harutyunyan (ARM) 371.88; Vadim Kaptur / Artsiom Barouski (BLR) 358.08

3m – 1. Pamela Ware (CAN) 301.35; 2. Maria Coburn (USA) 295.70; 3. Inge Jansen (NED) 295.60
10m – 1. Zhang Jiaqi (CHN) 382.72; 2. Zhang Minjie (CHN) 355.70; 3. Olivia Chamandy (CAN) 325.55
3m synchro – 1. Mia Vallee / Olivia Chamandy (CAN) 267.78; Daphne Wils / Inge Jansen (NED) 267.00; Gyongyver Kormos / Flora Piroska Fazekas-Gondos (HUN) 231.12
10m synchro – 1. Zhang Jiaqi / Zhang Minjie (CHN) 347.28; Chiara Pellacani / Noemi Batki (ITA) 259.56; Daniela Zambrano Montiel / Emily Partida (MEX) 252.60

FINA Diving Grand Prix 2017 calendar

1. Rostock (GER): February 24-26
2. Gatineau (CAN): April 6-9
3. San Juan (PUR): May 4-7
4. Madrid (ESP): May 26-28
5. Bolzano (ITA): July 5-7
6. Kuala Lumpur (MAS): October 26-29
7. Singapore (SGP): November 2-5
8. Gold Coast (AUS): November 9-11

International Swimming Federation (FINA)

The International Swimming Federation, founded in 1908, is the governing body for aquatics worldwide. FINA’s five disciplines Swimming, Open Water Swimming, Diving, Water Polo and Synchronized Swimming – are all included in the Olympic program. High Diving made icts first appearance in FINA events at the 2013 FINA World Championships. FINA National Federations affiliated 207 counts on the five continents and Has Its headquarters in Lausanne (SUI).

Swimming news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments