FINA World Cup 2016: 9 stops, starts in Chartres/France next week

FINA World Cup Schedule 2016

August 26-27Chartres (FRA)Doha (QAT)
August 30-31 – Berlin (GER) -September 1Dubai (UAE)
September 03-04 – Moscow (RUS)
September 30 – October 1 – Beijing (CHN)
October 4-5– Dubai (UAE)
October 8-9 – Doha (QAT)
October 21-22 – Singapore (SIN)
October 25-26 – Tokyo (JPN)
October 29-30 – Hong Kong (HKG)



  • Friday, August 26th – Saturday, August 27th
  • L’Odyssée – Chartres, France
  • Prelims 3:30am EST/Finals 11:00am
  • Event website
  • Schedule

After exciting Olympic Games in Rio, many Olympic champions and medalists will travel to Chartres, France, for the first stop of the 2016 FINA World Cup series.

This year, the World Cup returns to the short course format – last year, the swimmers competed in 50 m pools because of the 2016 Olympic Games.

The Chartres stop will feature three time Olympic Champion Katinka Hosszu (HUN).  The Iron Lady also is last year’s overall winner of the World Cup series. She is joined by 2015 overall winner on the men’s side, Cameron van der Burgh, who won a silver medal in Rio in the 100 m breaststroke. Chad le Clos will be back at the tour, he won two silver medals at the Olympics.

The Chartes World Cup will feature World Champions Marco Koch (GER), Emily Seebohm (AUS) who won an Olympic silver medal in the 4 x100 m medley relay and Mitch Larkin (AUS), silver medalist in the 200 m backstroke and bronze medal winner in the 4 x 100 m medley relay.

From the United States, some Olympic medalists that are expected to compete are: Katie Meilie (gold in the 4 x 100 m medley relay, bronze in the 100 m breaststroke), Tom Shields (gold in the 4 x 100 medley relay), Breeja Larson and Tim Philips.

Also Jeanette Ottesen from Denmark, who won a bronze medal in the 4 x 100 m medley relay, should compete at the first World Cup stop – she announced after the medley relay in Rio that this event should have been her last Olympic race.

Hannah Miley and James Guy (silver in Rio with the 4 x 100 m medley and 4 x 200 m freestyle relay) from Great Britain are set to compete in France.

And some of French biggest swim stars will make an appearance: Florent Manaudou (silver in Rio in the 50 m freestyle and the 4 x 100 m freestyle relay), backstroke specialist Camille Lacourt, Coralie Balmy and Yannick Agnel – this swim meet in his home country will probably mark the last races of his career – he has declared his retirement from competitve swimming in Rio.

Across nine locations, the circuit is structured in clusters (Europe, Middle East and Asia) and distributes a total of prize money reaching $ 2 million.

The competiton programme of each meet includes 17 indivdiual events for men/women – a total of 34 events. Points and money  for each individual event are awarded as follows:

  1. $1,500 – 12 points
  2. $1,000 – 9 points
  3. $ 500 – 6 points

The $ 3,000 per event are amounting to a total of $ 102,000 for 34 individual events.

In addition, in 2016 and 2017, FINA will provide prize money for mixed relays (2 events per meet):

  1. $ 3,000
  2. $ 2,000
  3. $ 1,000

Also the three best performances women or men swum at heats or finals will earn performance points according to th FINA points table of the relevant year:

Best perfomance – highest FINA points table – 24 points
Second best performance  – 18 points
Third best performance – 12 points

Only the best performance of each swimmer is taken into account.

All points are important for the results per World Cup Series Cluster and the overall counting.

A swimmer breaking a world record will get an extra 20 points and $ 10,000.

So the meet scoring is the total of medal points, performance points and world record points – one ranking exists for men, anothe for women.


The Paris-Chartres stop marks the first of the first World Cup Series Cluster. At the end of each cluster, an additional $ 150,000 will be awarded to the top 6 performers of each sex.

The awards for the cluster winners are as listed:

  1. $50,000
  2. $35,000
  3. $30,000
  4. $20,000
  5. $10,000
  6. $5,000

In 2015, Katinka Hosszu and Cameron van der Burgh were the overall champions.

The overall top 3 men and top 3 women will be decided by adding all meet scorings of the participants.

Overall prize money:

1st place: $100,000

2nd place: $ 50,000

3rd place: $ 30,000


Overall 2015 World Cup Winners, Katinka Hosszu and Cameron Van der Burgh

Overall 2015 World Cup Winners, Katinka Hosszu and Cameron Van der Burgh, photo: Daniela Kapser





In This Story

Leave a Reply

3 Comment threads
3 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
5 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Hey Squire Chad, time to make some money whilst King Joe goes back to School


How are clusters determined is it every two meets?

Daniela Kapser

The clusters are divided in Europe, Far East and Asia – three stops per Cluster. Sorry, forgot to mention them.


Thank you. So katinkas gonna make 150 on whatever else she earns


Why no stops in Australia, Africa, the Americas?


I imagine for travel