Eindhoven Swim Cup Day 6 Finals Live Recap


  • Wednesday April 6th-Sunday April 10th
  • Prelims -12:00 pm local (6:00 am EDT/3:00 am PDT); Finals – 9:00 pm local (3:00 pm EDT/12:00 pm PDT)
  • Psych Sheets and Results
  • Live stream

*denotes FINA ‘A’ swims

Men’s 50 Fly- Final

  1. Joeri Verlinden, Netherlands: 23.81
  2. Jesse Puts, Netherlands: 24.16
  3. Jeroen Baars, Netherlands: 24.46

Joeri Verlinden, the only swimmer to crack 24, took the win in the men’s 50 fly. He didn’t quite hit his own championship record 23.63 from 2014. Jesse Puts took second in 24.16, followed by Jeroen Baars in 24.46.

Fourth went to Thom de Boer in 24.47, and Nyles Korstanje hit fifth in 24.55 in a new Dutch age group record for 17-year-olds.

Women’ s 50 Back- Final

  1. Maaike de Waard, Netherlands: 27.85
  2. Kira Toussaint, Netherlands: 28.74
  3. Tamara van Vliet: 29.04

Maaike de Waard cut a chunk of time from her prelims swim to set another new championship record in the women’s 50 back. Her 27.85 was .41 fastest than her championship record swim this morning and a second ahead of the field.

Her swim now sits seventh in the world rankings, up from 20th with her season-best before today, a 28.18 from the Amsterdam Cup.

Kira Toussaint took the second slot in 28.74, followed by Tamara van Vliet, who grabbed the bronze in 29.04.

Esmée Forest and Tessa Vermeulen were close behind in 29.08 and 29.09. LouLou Janssen hit sixth in 29.43, a new Dutch age group record for 15-year-olds.

Men’s 200 Breast- Final

  1. Nicholas Quinn, Ireland: 2:11.24*
  2. Sebas van Lith, Netherlands: 2:12.05
  3. Max Pilger, Germany: 2:14.09

Ireland’s Nicholas Quinn scored the win in the men’s 200 breast, swimming the event in 2:11.24. He was the only swimmer in the field to hit the FINA ‘A’ standard of 2:11.66. He also took down the meet record, a 2:11.35 set by Lennart Stekelenburg in 2011.

Sebas van Lith of the Netherlands set the Dutch championship record in 2:12.05, taking down the record that he set this morning, a 2:12.84.

Max Pilger of Germany took the bronze in 2:15.73, followed by Arno Kamminga (2:15.73), Lucas Greven (2:16.40), Arjan Knipping (2:19.39), Koen Lems (2:20.29), and Leo Kasper (2:20.51). 

Women’s 400 Free- Final

  1. Anja Crevar, Serbia: 4:14.67
  2. Andrea Kneppers, Netherlands: 4:16.88
  3. Marjolein Delno, Netherlands: 4:17.58

Serbia’s Anja Crevar won the 400 free by over two seconds, hitting the wall in 4:14.67. Andrea Kneppers came up second in 4:16.88, followed by Marjolein Delno in 4:17.58.

Rieneke Terink (4:18.88), Marieke Tienstra (4:21.62), Serena Set (4:24.87), Laura Setz (4:24.93), and Marij van der Mast (4:32.48) rounded out the final.

No one in the event hit a FINA ‘A’ standard.

Women’s 100 Breast- Final

  1. Rikke Moller Pedersen, Denmark: 1:07.33*
  2. Yvette Man-Yi Kong, Hong Kong: 1:08.25
  3. Anouk Elzerman, Netherlands: 1:09.93

Rikke Moller Pedersen of Denmark, the current world record holder in the 200 distance, swam 1:07.33 in the 100 breast. That time was a fraction slower than she went this morning, a 1:07.26 that ranks her 18th in the world.

Hong Kong’s Yvette Man-Yi Kong came in a second back to win the silver in 1:08.25. Anouk Elzerman took the bronze with 1:09.93.

Fourth was a tie between Alice Ruhnau and Michelle Lambert in 1:10.80.

Men’s 100 Back- Final

  1. Guy Barnea, Israel: 55.19
  2. Ruben Dekker, Netherlands: 58.12
  3. Jurjen Willemsen, Netherlands: 58.24

2008 Olympian Guy Barnea of Israel destroyed the field in the 100 back, taking the gold in 55.19.

Ruben Dekker and Jurjen Willemsen fought for the silver, with Dekker prevailing in 58.12. Willemsen settled for bronze with 58.24.

Jelle Betten also came in under 59, swimming the event in 58.34.

No swimmers hit the FINA ‘A’ standard of 54.36.

Men’s 200 Free- Final

  1. Martin Brzoskowski, Netherlands: 1:47.17*
  2. Sebastiaan Verschuren, Netherlands: 1:47.20*
  3. Velimir Stjepanovic, Serbia: 1:47.80*

The top three men’s 200 freestylers came in under the FINA ‘A’ standard of 1:47.97, with Martin Brzoskowski narrowly outtouching Sebastiaan Verschuren for the gold in 1:47.17. Verschuren ended up with second in 1:47.20. The pair now sit 17th and 18th in the world rankings.

Serbia’s Velimir Stjepanovic was also under the mark in 1:47.80.

Kyle Stolk (1:48.44), Are Schwietert (1:49.44), Poul Zellmann (1:49.93), Joost Reijns (1:50.13), and Frank Roovers (1:52.57) rounded out the championship final.

Women’s 100 Free- Final

  1. Ranomi Kromowidjojo, Netherlands: 53.55*
  2. Femke Heemskerk, Netherlands: 53.98*
  3. Marrit Steenbergen, Netherlands: 54.43*

Three-time Olympic champ Ranomi Kromowidjojo fought off her Dutch countryman and international-level relay teammate Femke Heemskerk for the gold in the 100 free. Kromowidjojo swam the event in 53.55, which wasn’t quite fast enough to hit her season best, a 4th-in-the-world 53.21 from earlier in this meet.

Heemskerk took second in 53.98, which also didn’t hit her season best, a 7th-in-the-world 53.68 from the Amsterdam Swim Cup.

Teen phenom Marrit Steenbergen grabbed bronze in 54.43, setting the Dutch age group record for 16-year-olds.

Maud van der Meer also came in under the 55 second mark, with 54.99. Robin Neumann (55.02), Esmee Vermeulen (55.06), Kim Busch (55.56), and Isle Kraaijeveld (55.86) rounded out the top eight.

Denmark’s Jeannette Ottesen scratched the final.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Hannah Hecht

Hannah Hecht

Hannah Hecht grew up in Kansas and spent most of her childhood trying to convince coaches to let her swim backstroke in freestyle sets. She took her passion to Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa and swam at NAIA Nationals all four years. After graduating in 2015, she moved to …

Read More »