Diving World Series: China Takes All at Home

Team China clinched all gold at grabs this weekend in the Beijing National Aquatics Centre – “Water Cube”, at the FINA/NVC Diving World Series 2016 opener (March 11-13).

Si Yajie (CHN), 2013 world champion, made a strong come back on the women’s 10m platform final and won the title in 383.10 points, edging her newly-crowned World Cup winner teammate Ren Qian by 2.50. Melissa Wu of Australia took the bronze in 342.10.

Still in the women’s field, FINA Best Female Diver of the Year and 2015 world champion Shi Tingmao of China topped her pet event, the 3m. She was followed by teammate He Zi (338.10), silver in Kazan 2015, and Canada’s Pamela Ware (322.15).

Cao Yuan (CHN) triumphed in the 3m springboard with 498.05 points, while 2015 world champion He Chao (CHN) and Evgenii Kuznetsov (RUS) ended up respectively silver and bronze.

On the last competition day (Sunday March 13), Chen Aisen of China completed his nation’s gold sweep on home-soil by winning the 10m platform with 572.40, in front of the current world champion Qiu Bo (CHN) and Victor Minibaev (RUS).

The mixed 10m saw French pair Laura Marino/Benjamin Auffret ranking second with 300.12 points. China was first with 349.02 and Canada was third (292.74). No surprise in the mixed 3m as China took gold, Canada silver and Italy bronze.

Detailed results

The next FINA/NVC Diving World Series stop will be in Dubai on March 17-19.

3m springboard:
1. Cao Yuan (CHN) 498.05, 2. He Chao (CHN) 472.40, 3. Evgenii Kuznetsov (RUS) 466.20
10m platform:
1. Chen Aisen (CHN) 572.40, 2. Qiu Bo (CHN) 564.40, 3. Victor Minibaev (RUS) 507.65
3m springboard synchro:
1. Cao Yuan/Qin Kai (CHN) 442.74; 2. Evgenii Kuznetsov/Ilia Zakharov (RUS) 430.32; 3. Sam Dorman/Kristian Ipsen (USA) 409.08
10m platform synchro:
1. Lin Yue/Chen Aisen (CHN) 477.15; 2. Maksym Dolgov/Oleksandr Gorshkovozov (UKR) 426.21; 3. Thomas Daley/Daniel Goodfellow (GBR) 420.15

3m springboard:
1. Shi Tingmao (CHN) 348.10, 2. He Zi (CHN) 338.10, 3. Pamela Ware (CAN) 322.15
10m platform:
1. Si Yajie (CHN) 383.10, 2. Ren Qian (CHN) 380.60, 3. Melissa Wu (AUS) 342.10
3m springboard synchro:
1. He Zi/Wang Han (CHN) 330.30; 2. Viktoriya Kesar/Anastasiia Nedobiga (UKR) 295.98; 3. Tania Cagnotto/Francesca Dallape (ITA) 293.79
10m platform synchro:
1. Liu Huixia/Si Yajie (CHN) 334.68; 2. Tonia Couch/Lois Toulson (GBR) 317.46; 3. Mun Yee Leong/Pandelela Rinong Pamg (MAS) 311.70

3m synchro:
1. Wang Han/Yang Hao (CHN) 327.60, 2. Jennifer Abel/Francois Imbeau-Dulac (CAN) 294.24, 3. Tania Cagnotto/Maicol Verzotto ITA) 289.20
10m synchro:
1. Tai Xiaohu/Chang Yani (CHN) 349.02, 2. Laura Marino/Benjamin Auffret (FRA) 300.12, 3. Meaghan Benfeito/Vincent Riendeau (CAN) 292.74

FINA/NVC Diving World Series 2016 calendar

1. Beijing (CHN) : March 11-13
2. Dubai (UAE) : March 17-19
3. Windsor (CAN): April 15-17
4. Kazan (RUS): April 22-24

Swimming news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona and the University of Florida. While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She is now coaching for Loggerhead Aquatics in her hometown …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!