Comerford, Hansson Headline This Weekend’s SMU Classic

24th Annual 2017 SMU Women’s Classic

  • Friday, October 13 – Saturday, October 14
  • Westside Aquatic Center
  • Lewisville, Texas
  • Meet Info
  • Live Results

The 24th Annual SMU Women’s Classic is set to get underway on Friday, with five teams going facing off at the Westside Aquatic Center in Lewisville, Texas. SMU’s new pool, the Robson & Lindley Aquatics Center and Barr-McMillion Natatorium, is nearing completion and is slated to host LSU on November 3rd.

The teams heading to the meet will be Michigan, Louisville, USC, UCLA, Miami, and the hosts from SMU.

The meet format is uniquely its own, with each team selecting eight swimmers and one diver to represent them throughout the two days. Swimmers are permitted three events per day, one of which must be a relay. Each team will field two swimmers per event, one swimming in the championship final and one in the consolation final. Relays will only have a championship final.

The format of the meet elicits an intense atmosphere, which often leads to a touchstone early on in the NCAA season.

Last year, Michigan and Louisville duelled to the bitter end, with the Wolverines ultimately walking away with a 1-point win.

Headlining the rosters this year is 200 free NCAA champ Mallory Comerford of Louisville, who was the highest point scorer last year with 42. Individually she won the 100 free and had runner-up finishes in the 200 and 500.

Louise Hansson of USC was the one who upended the eventual national champ in the 200 free last year, and also came out on top in the 200 IM. She returns this year, as does Michigan’s Yirong Bi who won the 500 over Comerford in 2016.

Other notable names competing include Alina Kendzior of Louisville, Siobhan Haughey of Michigan, and Maddie Wright of USC. Check out full rosters below, minus Miami whose head coach Andy Kershaw has declined to share their roster for what he says are competitive reasons..

Michigan Louisville USC UCLA SMU
Yirong Bi Mallory Comerford Louise Hansson Katie Grover Matea Samardzic
Siobhan Haughey Alina Kendzior Hannah Weiss Sarah Kaunitz Kathleen Charron
Vanessa Krause Casey Fanz Maddie Wright Amy Okada El Yellin
Catie Deloof Maria Astashkina Tatum Wade Jennifer Lathrop Agata Magner
Gabby Deloof Rachael Bradford-Feldman Lexie Malazdrewicz Isabella Goldsmith Erin Trahan
Becca Postoll Grace Oglesby Riley Scott Kenisha Liu Felicity Passon
Clara Smiddy Arina Openysheva Marta Ciesla Sandra Soe Sam Smith
Miranda Tucker Lainey Visscher Maggie Aroesty Emma Schanz Lauren Thompson
Nikki Canale Molly Fears Carly Souza Ciara Monahan Katie Crown

The meet schedule is as follows:

400 medley relay
400 IM
200 free
50 free
1 meter
100 fly
100 back
100 breast
800 free relay
200 medley relay
500 free
200 breast
200 back
3 meter
100 free
200 fly
200 IM
200 free relay

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
4 years ago

Comerford is the athlete I’m looking out for this coming season; Big improvents at the right time. Louisville sure as hell replaced Worrell. Provided Openysheva can defend her 500fr points, I’d like to see Comerford tackle more butterfly this year.

4 years ago

*Arina Openysheva not Ariana

About James Sutherland

James Sutherland

James swam five years at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ontario, specializing in the 200 free, back and IM. He finished up his collegiate swimming career in 2018, graduating with a bachelor's degree in economics. In 2019 he completed his graduate degree in sports journalism. Prior to going to Laurentian, James swam …

Read More »