Brown University Invitational: Saturday Finals Recap

by Christen McDonough 0

December 06th, 2014 College, Ivy League, News

Here’s a snapshot of the Saturday night finals session at the Brown University Invitational:

200 Medley Relay
In the women’s event, Brown’s A relay of Jenna Zagoren, Aja Grande, Caroline Vexler, and Reia Tong finished first in a time of 1:43.23. Princeton’s B relay of Shirley Wang, Alisabeth Marsteller, Morgan Karetnick, and Maddy Veith finished in second (1:43.52) ahead of Princeton’s A relay (1:43.85). Princeton’s A and B relays took first and second in the men’s event. The A relay of Andrew Helber, Jack Pohlmann, Connor Maher, and Harrison Wagner finished in a time of 1:27.60, followed by the B relay of Zach Buerger, Marco Bove, Alexander Lewis, and Jeremy Wong in 1:30.87. Dartmouth’s A relay claimed the third spot in 1:30.87.

400 IM
Yale’s Emma Smith won the women’s 400 IM in a time of 4:18.59, followed by Princeton’s Beverly Nguyen (4:19.94), Yale’s Sydney Hirschi (4:20.93), and Yale’s Danielle Liu (4:21.40). In the men’s event, Corey Okubo of Princeton claimed the top time in 3:48.15 by ten seconds. The next finishers touched in rapid succession: Jae Park of Columbia (3:58.19) and Logan Briggs of Dartmouth in 3:58.20.

100 Butterfly
In the women’s event, Maddy Zimmerman of Yale won in a time of 53.78, followed by Elizabeth McDonald of Princeton in 54.08. Sydney Hirschi, who once again finished in the top three spots of an event, touched in 54.25. David Jakl of Columbia won the men’s event in a time of 47.98, ahead of Princeton’s Ben Schafer (48.22), Brown’s Jeffrey Strausser (48.49), and Dartmouth’s David Harmon (48.50).

200 Freestyle
Claire McIlMail of Princeton won the women’s 200 Freestyle in a time of 1:47.97. She was ahead of Yale’s Kina Zhou, who took second in 1:48.38, and Brown’s Kate Dillione, who finished third in 1:48.94. Rider’s Zachary Molloy won the men’s event in 1:37.61, followed by David Paulk of Princeton (1:38.09), Tony Shen of Dartmouth (1:39.58), and Michal Zyla of Columbia (1:40.51).

100 Breaststroke
Yale’s Paulina Kaminski won the women’s 100 Breaststroke by over a second, finishing first in a time of 1:02.46. Ali Stephens-Pickeral, also of Yale, touched the wall in second, clocking a time of 1:03.92. Elizabeth Larsen, a third Yale breaststroker, finished third in 1:04.22. In the men’s event, Jack Pohlmann of Princeton claimed first place, finishing in a time of 54.19. Stanley Wong of Columbia touched in second place with a 55.78, just ahead of Marco Bove of Princeton in 55.87.

100 Backstroke
Princeton’s Shirley Wang won the women’s 100 Backstroke in a time of 55.34, jus ahead of Michelle Chintanaphol of Yale (55.57) and Heidi VandelWel of Yale (55.70). Sada Stewart of Princeton was fourth in 56.64. In the men’s event, James Verhagen of Dartmouth was the only swimmer to break 49 seconds in a time of 48.74. Connor Maher of Princeton finished in 49.17, followed by Princeton’s Alexander Lewis (49.17) and Dartmouth’s Aaron Athanas (49.40).

800 Freestyle Relay
Yale’s A relay of Danielle Liu, Isla Hutchinson-Maddox, Michelle Chintanaphol, and Eva Fabian won in a time of 7:23.29. They were well ahead of the next finisher, Brown’s A relay of Kate Dillione, Elly Vitek, Korby Simpson, and Reia Tong (7:28.24). Dartmouth’s A finished third in 7:30.90. In the men’s event, Dartmouth claimed the top spot. The Dartmouth A relay of Misha Tovmashenko, Aaron Athanas, Ian Woon, and Tony Shen won in a time of 6:39.96, ahead of Princeton’s quartet of Zach Buerger, Michael Hauss, Corey Okubo, and David Paulk (6:40.14). Princeton’s B relay was third in this event.

Live results can be found at Check back tomorrow at 10 am for the Sunday prelims. Tomorrow’s session will include the following events: 200 Backstroke, 100 Freestyle, 200 Breaststroke, and the 200 Butterfly.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments