Big Ten Recognizes Winter Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

by SwimSwam 0

March 20th, 2019 Big Ten, College, News

Courtesy: Big Ten Conference

ROSEMONT, Ill. –  The Big Ten Conference recognized a total of 928 students competing in winter sports who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team Wednesday.

The list of honorees features 65 men’s and 68 women’s basketball students, 64 men’s and 98 women’s gymnasts, 149 men’s and 264 women’s swimming and diving students, 151 wrestlers and 69 men’s hockey students.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be on a varsity team, as verified by being on the official squad list as of March 1 for winter sports, who have been enrolled fulltime at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Twenty-two of the winter honorees have maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs:

Kylie Noonan, Illinois women’s gymnastics (So., Unassigned)

Mary Jane Otto, Illinois women’s gymnastics (Gr., Recreation, Sport and Tourism)

Taylor Arnold, Michigan State women’s swimming and diving (So., English)

Courtney Aycock, Michigan State women’s swimming and diving (Sr., Kinesiology)

Cameron Caffey, Michigan State wrestling (So., Computer engineering)

Amanda Ling, Michigan State women’s swimming and diving (So., English)

Austin Kramer, Michigan State hockey (So., Chemical engineering)

Nehemiah Mork, Michigan State men’s swimming and diving (Jr., Mechanical Engineering)

Scott Piper, Michigan State men’s swimming and diving (Jr., Biosystems Engineering)

Mariam Khamis, Minnesota women’s swimming and diving (Sr., Psychology)

Lindsay Helferich, Nebraska women’s swimming and diving (Sr., Civil Engineering)

Izzie Murray, Nebraska women’s swimming and diving (So., Environmental Studies)

Tucker Sjomeling, Nebraska wrestling (So., Actuarial Science)

Reed McGraw, Ohio State men’s swimming and diving (Sr., Biomedical Engineering)

Makayla Waterman, Ohio State women’s basketball (Gr., Masters of Sports Coaching)

Joseph Wilmot, Ohio State men’s gymnastics (So., Biology)

Jack Baldwin, Penn State men’s gymnastics (So., Engineering)

Noah Roberson, Penn State men’s gymnastics (Gr., Bioengineering)

Siena Salvaggio, Penn State women’s swimming and diving (Jr., Finance)

Leony Boudreau, Purdue women’s basketball, (So., Engineering)

Megan Johnson, Purdue women’s swimming and diving (So., Health Science Preprofessional)

Dale Williams, Purdue men’s swimming and diving (So., Aeronautical & Astronautical Engineering)

The full list of honorees is here.

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. To be eligible for selection, students must be a recipient of Academic All-Big Ten Recognition in the previous academic year, must be enrolled for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher during that time. This GPA shall be calculated based on the previous academic year only, excluding summer. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.

Leave a Reply