Annie Lazor Hits 1:05.91 100 Breast 1 Month Out from Worlds at Indy Spring Cup

2022 Indy Spring Cup

  • May 18-21, 2022
  • LCM (50 meters)
  • IU Natatorium, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Meet Mobile: “2022 Indy Spring Cup”

Some of the top midwest swimmers are at the IU Natatorium this weekend, including 2020 Tokyo Olympian Annie Lazor.

Lazor, swam a 1:05.91 100 breaststroke to earn the win. That is faster than she was at International Team Trials as she swam a 1:06.12 there to finish second and secure a spot on the US World Championship roster next month. The 100 breaststroke heats is exactly one month from today. That also was Lazor’s third fastest time in the event ever.

Finishing second in the 100 breaststroke was Ohio State’s Josephine Panitz who touched in a best time of 1:08.49, almost a whole second faster than she was at International Team Trials as she was a 1:09.46 there. Indiana went 3-4-5 as Mackenzie Looze swam a 1:09.04 for third, Noelle Peplowski a 1:09.85 for fourth, and Brearna Crawford a 1:10.13 for fifth.

On Wednesday night, Ohio State sophomore Maya Geringer won the 800 freestyle in a 8:44.14 which was just off of her best time of 8:43.91 which she set a few weeks ago at International Team Trials. 14 year old Lynsey Bowen of Carmel Swim Club (CSC) was second in a time of 8:55.13. That time was slightly off her best time of 8:51.62 which she swam at the end of March. Michigan freshman Kathryn Shanley rounded out the top three touching in a best time of 8:56.72.

Winning the 1500 freestyle Wednesday night on the men’s side was Connor Hunt. Hunt, a Michigan freshman, swam to a time of 15:37.71 in the win. That was about five seconds off of his best time of 15:32.66 from the 2020 US Open. Ohio State’s Alfred Hansen (16:01.24) and Jonathan Edwards (16:06.62) rounded out the top three.

Kicking off Thursday night was Indiana’s Anna Peplowski who earned a win in the women’s 200 freestyle. Peplowski swam a time of 2:01.00 just off of her best time of 2:00.66 which she swam at the 2021 Spring Sectionals. Indiana’s Ella Ristic finished right behind Peplowski as Ristic touched second in a 2:01.39 which was just off of her best time of 2:00.65. Ohio State’s Amy Fulmer was third in a 2:02.36 just off of her best time of 2:01.78 which she swam at International Team Trials.

Louisville’s Murilo Sartori won the men’s 200 freestyle in a 1:48.19. That time is just off his best time of 1:46.81. Indiana’s Rafael Miroslaw was second in a time of 1:48.77. US Tokyo Olympian Jake Mitchell is back competing after battling mono and was third in a 1:50.82.

Itay Goldfaden won the men’s 100 breaststroke in a 1:02.69. Goldfaden was recently announced as a member of Israel’s World Championship roster. That was slightly off of his best time of 1:01.07. Coming in second was Indiana freshman Luke Barr who touched in a 1:03.65. Barr swam a 1:02.65 at International Team Trials. Youssef El Kamash, who represented Egypt at the 2021 SCM World Championships, was third in a 1:03.94.

Winning the women’s 100 butterfly was Ohio State sophomore Kit Kat Zenick who touched in a 1:00.21. That was just off of her best time of 1:00.19 which she swam at Summer Championships East last summer. Ohio State’s Aislinn Walsh was second in a 1:00.99 just off of her best time of 1:00.99. Texas commit Emma Kern of Aquajets Swim Team (AQJT) was third in a best time of 1:01.88 touching ahead of Michigan freshman Abbey Ketslakh who was fourth in a 1:02.25.

Indiana senior Van Mathias won the men’s 100 fly in a 53.20. Mathais swam a personal best of 52.72 at International Team Trials. Michigan’s Bence Szabados was second in a 54.65 which was just off his personal best of 54.02 which he swam at San Antonio Pro Swim. UIndy senior Kael Yorke was third in a 54.96 just off of his best time of 54.09.

Rounding out the night with a win was Mackenzie Looze as she picked up a win in the women’s 400 IM with a time of 4:48.17. Ohio State went 2-3 as Kyra Sommerstad was second in a 4:56.94 and Josephine Panitz was third in a 4:58.13. Iowa commit (2023) Olivia Swalley was fourth in a 4:58.26.

Finishing the night on the men’s side with a win was Connor Hunt of Michigan touching in a 4:26.27 in the 400 IM ahead of teammate Ansel Froass who who was second in a 4:30.81. Ohio State’s Nathan Holty was third in a 4:31.64.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 month ago

FYI-Alfred Hansen goes by North Hansen-OSU.

1 month ago

I think there was another heat of the mens 400 IM that you missed. Connor Hunt 4:26.27, Ansel Froass 4:30.81, Nathan Holty 4:31.64.

1 month ago

Unfortunately, the time posted in the women’s 100 meter breaststroke will not be fast enough to medal at the 2022 FINA World Aquatics Championships.

Reply to  Smith-King-Huske-Curzan
1 month ago

She’s not even tapered. I’d say 1:05.9 is pretty good.

1 month ago


1 month ago

“Live” Results Link:

Reply to  coachofficialmi
1 month ago
Pacific Whirl
Reply to  coachofficialmi
1 month ago

Thank you, coach.

1 month ago

In other news… Patrick callan is headed to Cal

Pacific Whirl
1 month ago

Miroslaw’s best time is 1:46 low in April.

About Anya Pelshaw

Anya Pelshaw

Anya has been with SwimSwam since June 2021 as both a writer and social media coordinator. She was in attendance at the 2022 Women's NCAA Championships writing and doing social media for SwimSwam. Currently, Anya is pursuing her B.A. in Government & Law and Economics at Lafayette College. There she is …

Read More »