All the Links You Need to Follow the 2019 U.S. Open Swimming Championships

2019 U.S. Open Swimming Championships

The 2019 U.S. Open will kick off tomorrow and we have gathered all the information you need to follow the action.

You can read our previews about the top 5 races to watch in the women’s and meet’s competitions, respectively:

Here we preview the top juniors to look out for. Note that Claire Curzan, who is listed as one of the eight U.S. junior women to watch at the U.S. Open, has withdrawn for medical reasons. She is expected to swim next week at Winter Juniors, however.

Time Zones

Session times are mostly 10:00 AM for prelims and 7:00 PM (19:00) for finals but there have been adjustments made to the schedule. The Wednesday distance session will begin at 6:00 PM (18:00) and the Saturday prelims session will begin at 8:00 AM, for starters. Due to television, Friday’s finals begin at 6:50 PM and Saturday’s at 6:20 PM. Generally speaking, here are the session start times in the major viewing markets:

  PRELIMS FINALS
U.S. Eastern Time 10:00 AM 7:00 PM (19:00)
U.S. Central Time 9:00 AM 6:00 PM (18:00)
U.S. Mountain Time 8:00 AM 5:00 PM (17:00)
U.S. Pacific Time 7:00 AM 4:00 PM (16:00)
Rio Time 12:00 PM (noon) 9:00 PM (21:00)
London 3:00 PM (15:00) 12:00 AM (midnight)
Central European Time 4:00 PM (16:00) 1:00 AM (next day)
South Africa Time 5:00 PM (17:00) 2:00 AM (next day)
Moscow Time 6:00 PM (18:00) 3:00 AM (next day)
Gwangju/Tokyo Time 12:00 AM (midnight) 9:00 AM (next day)
Sydney Time 2:00 AM (next day) 11:00 AM (next day)

Finals

In the Finals, the B (consolation) heat will swim first, followed by the A (championship) heat. After all the A and B heats are completed, the C (bonus) heat will be swum. International swimmers are eligible for all three heats.

6
Leave a Reply

4 Comment threads
2 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
5 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
More Malarkey

Your time zone listing has a mistake: London time and Central European time are not the same (as you have listed). CE time is one hour ahead of Britain. CE time is 6 hours ahead of US Eastern time, and London is 5 hours ahead of US ET.

Heyitsme

Get well soon Claire!

Coach Mike 1952

Greatly appreciate you posting start times for major times zones, thanks. A nice feature!

About Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant is the mother of four daughters, all of whom swim/swam in college. With an undergraduate degree from Princeton (where she was an all-Ivy tennis player) and an MBA from INSEAD, she worked for many years in the financial industry, both in France and the U.S. Anne is currently …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!