2020 Academic All-Big 12 Swimming & Diving Team Announced

by SwimSwam 0

February 18th, 2020 Big 12, College

Courtesy: Big 12 Sports

The 2020 Academic All-Big 12 Swimming and Diving Team includes 129 honorees with 42 members on the men’s team and 87 on the women’s side.

Among those honored, 10 women’s student-athletes registered a 4.0 GPA: Claire Adams (Texas), Camille Burt (West Virginia), Haley Downey (Kansas), Miranda Marcucci (West Virginia), Megan Morris (TCU), Greta Olsen (Kansas), Abigail Riggs (West Virginia), Kate Steward (Kansas), Kaitlyn Witt (Kansas) and Brooke Zedar (West Virginia).

West Virginia had three men’s student-athletes garner a 4.0 grade point average: Ryan Kelly, Paul Lenz and Josh Madzy.

The men’s team included 36 first team honorees and six second team selections, while the women’s team honors 83 on the first team and four second team selections.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Leave a Reply

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!