2017 U.S. Open: Day 1 Distance Freestyle Heats


Women’s 800 Free

  • American Record: Katie Ledecky, 8:04.79, 2016
  • U.S. Open Record: Katie Ledecky, 8:06.68, 2016
  • Meet Record: Stephanie Peacock, 8:24.36, 2012

Mariah Denigan of Northern Kentucky Clippers won the first heat of women’s 800m freestyle, dropping over 6 seconds to touch in 8:49.04, and rising to #56 on the all-time list for 13-14 girls. Princeton-bound Courtney Tseng of La Mirada won the next heat over her teammate Kathleen Sulkevich, 8:54.00 to 8:55.75. Courtney Evensen of University of Missouri won the next heat in a best-by-6.3-seconds 8:45.34 for the second-fastest swim thus far.

Haley Yelle of Mansfield Aquatic Club took over the lead in heat 4 with 8:44.22, a 6.2-second improvement over her seed time. Twins Grace Kowal (8:45.37) and Molly Kowal (8:45.71), in next-door lanes, touched second and third in the heat.

Cassy Jernberg of Schroeder YMCA put up the top time of the afternoon, winning the last heat before finals in 8:40.71, her best by 7.1 seconds. Kira Zubar of University of Missouri (8:43.10) and Geena Freriks of Kentucky Aquatics (8:43.95) battled for second in the heat. The trio posted the fastest times of the session.

Leaders after early-round heats:

  1. Cassy Jernberg, SSTY 8:40.71
  2. Kira Zubar, UMIZ 8:43.10
  3. Geena Freriks, KYA 8:43.95
  4. Haley Yelle, MAC 8:44.22
  5. Courtney Evensen, UMIZ 8:45.34
  6. Grace Kowal, HOKI 8:45.37
  7. Molly Kowal, OSU 8:45.71
  8. Autumn Finke, SPA 8:47.13

Men’s 1500 Free

  • American Record: Connor Jaeger, 14:39.48, 2016
  • U.S. Open Record: Peter Vanderkaay, 14:45.54, 2008
  • Meet Record: Glen Housman, 14:58.55, 1991

Kevin Miller of Athens Bulldogs jumped out to the early lead with a heat 1 win of 15:31.09, or a 28.5-second drop. Arik Katz of Sarasota YMCA went 15:32.38 to win the second heat from the outside lane. The 15-year-old moved up to #32 on the all-time list for 15-16 boys with the swim. Adam Destrampe of Indiana University took 11.7 seconds off his seed time to win heat 3 with 15:39.70.

Miller held on to his top spot until heat 4, when Walker Higgins of Tennessee Aquatics and UGA dropped nearly 18 seconds to win in 15:30.84. 16-year-old Will Barao was second in the heat with 15:41.55, a 9.6-second drop.

Andrew Brady of Snow Swimming destroyed his previous PB, going 15:17.90 for a 20.7-second drop and the fastest time overall. Behind him in the heat were Alamo Area’s Mikey Calvillo and Bearcat Aquatics’ Chris Bready, whose respective 15:28.61 and 15:30.40 were the second- and third-fastest swims of the session.

Leaders after early-round heats:

  1. Andrew Brady 15:17.90
  2. Mikey Calvillo, AAAA 15:28.61
  3. Chris Bready, CATS 15:30.40
  4. Walker Higgins, TNAQ 15:30.84
  5. Kevin Miller, ABSC 15:31.09
  6. C. Smith, SRQ 15:32.24
  7. Arik Katz, SYS 15:32.38
  8. Jack Collins, BAD 15:32.72



Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
not trey hubbuch
6 years ago

i love adam destrampe and cassy jernberg so much

About Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant is the mother of four daughters, all of whom swam in college. With an undergraduate degree from Princeton (where she was an all-Ivy tennis player) and an MBA from INSEAD, she worked for many years in the financial industry, both in France and the U.S. Anne is currently …

Read More »