2016 NCSA Spring Junior National Champs: Day 5 Finals Live Recap


  • March 15th-19th, 2016
  • Short Course Yards Prelims/Long Course Meters Finals
  • Prelims 8:30 AM Eastern Time/Finals 6:00PM Eastern Time (Except Tuesday, where they’re 4:00PM)
  • Orlando YMCA // Orlando, Florida
  • Live Stream
  • Psych Sheets
  • Championship Central
  • Live Results via MeetMobile: “2016 NCSA Spring Championship”

**Tonight’s finals will be contested in long course after this morning’s prelims session**

Tonight’s finals at the 2016 NCSA SPring Junior National Championships will include the 50 back, 200 IM, and 50 free individually, as well as the 400 medley relays. One of the most exciting races of the night will be the women’s 200 IM, where Margaret Aroesty will square off with Katie Drabot.


  1.  Phoebe Bacon, NCAP- 29.15
  2. Lucie Nordmann, MAC- 29.16
  3. Hannah Lindsey, ASA- 29.54

NCAP’s Phoebe Bacon and MAC’s Lucie Nordmann battled it out in the women’s 50 back tonight. Bacon ended up with the win in 29.15, overtaking 100 back champ Nordmann (29.16) by just a hundredth of a second.

Rounding out the podium was ASA’s Hannah Lindsey. Lindsey got to the wall in 29.54 to capture the bronze medal. Carrie Boone was just off the podium, but she was also under 30 seconds with a time of 29.84.


  1. Dylan Curtis, DR- 26.03
  2. Tyler Sesvold, SCST- 26.32
  3. George Wozencraft,DADS- 26.67

5 of the top 8 men were under 27 in the championship final of the 50 back tonight. Getting to the wall 1st was Dylan Curtis, who toyed with the 26 second barrier. Curtis won the event with a 26.03.

SCST’s Tyler Sesvold and DADS’ George Wozencraft each earned a medal with 2nd and 3rd place, respectively. Sesvold swam a 26.32 to Wozencraft’s 26.67. Behind them, Matthew Novinski (26.72) and Frederick Schubert (26.84) cracked 27 for 4th and 5th place.


  1. Joy Field, MAC- 8:40.18
  2. Isabella Rongione, NCAP- 8:43.83
  3. Paige Madden, CMSA- 8:46.23

MAC’s Joy Field was body lengths ahead of the field to pick up a victory in the women’s 800 free. Field posted a 4:20.81 400 split on the way to an overall time of 8:40.18 to take the title.

NCAP’s Isabella Rongione was the 2nd fastest to the wall. Rongione swam a quick 8:43.83 to take the silver medal. Coming into the wall about a second and a half behind her, CMSA’s Paige Madden rounded out the podium in 8:46.23.

The 4th and 5th place finishers, NCAP’s Megan Byrnes and PACK’s Lindsay Stone, were also under 8:50. Byrnes posted an 8:48.38 to take 4th ahead of Stone in 8:49.57.


  1. Margaret Aroesty, LIAC- 2:14.39
  2. Katie Drabot, OZ- 2:16.60
  3. Halladay Kinsey, UNAT- 2:17.15

The women’s 200 IM brought a highly anticipated race between Margaret Aroesty and Katie Drabot. Tonight’s final went to Aroesty, who capitalized off a 36.95 breaststroke split to win the race. Aroesty won it in 2:14.39, well ahead of Drabot, who finished 2nd in 2:16.60.

Taking 3rd and winning bronze was Halladay Kinsey in a solid 2:17.15. Behind her, Alexis Yager (2:18.46) and Eireni Moshos (2:19.22) closed out the top 5 with sub-2:20 swims.

MEN’S 200 IM:

  1. Charles Swanson, NOVA- 2:03.14
  2. Thomas Cope, DR- 2:04.68
  3. Jacob Montague, GPG- 2:05.74

NOVA’s Charles Swanson surged through the last 50 of the men’s 200 IM to claim an NCSA championship on this event. Swanson closed in 28.85 on the way to a winning time of 2:03.14. On that final 50, he swam past the 2nd and 3rd place finishers, Thomas Cope and Jacob Montague. Cope earned the silver in 2:04.68, while Montague clocked a 2:05.74 for silver.


  1. Casey Fanz, PDSN- 25.72
  2. Amalie Fackenthal, UNAT- 26.04
  3. Katherine Douglass, WEST- 26.06

PDSN’s Casey Fanz was the lone woman under 26 in the women’s 50 free tonight. Fanz hit the wall in 25.72 to capture the NCSA title. Behind her, only .02 separated the silver and bronze medalists. Amalie Fackenthal and Katherine Douglass were neck and neck into the wall. In the end, it was Fackenthal getting to the wall to take silver in 26.04. Douglass earned the bronze with a solid 26.06 swim.


  1. James William Jones, NCAP- 23.15
  2. Daniel Krueger, MSS- 23.39
  3. Aidan Pastel, NCAP- 23.50

NCAP’s James William Jones posted an impressive 23.15 to win the men’s 50 free. Jones was just 2 tents ahead of silver medalist Daniel Krueger in an intense race to the wall. Krueger’s 23.39 was good for 2nd place and the silver medal. Jones’ teammate Aidan Pastel finished 3rd to round out the top 3 with a 23.50.

MEN’S 1500 FREE:

  1. Antonio Thomas, HAWG- 15:40.11
  2. Lane Stone, NCAP- 15:40.86
  3. Robert Freeman, BAY- 15:41.51

The top 3 in the men’s 1500 free were extremely close, with less than 1.5 seconds separating them. Antonio Thomas of HAWG came out on top, finishing in 15:40.11 to take the gold. Just 7 tenths behind him was NCAP’s Lane Stone. Stone hit the wall in 15:40.86 to take silver. Robert Freeman rounded out the medals in 15:41.51.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »