2015 CIF San Diego Section – Torrey Pines Sweeps Division I Titles

2015 California Interscholastic Federation San Diego Section Swimming & Diving Championships

  • Dates: Friday, May 13, 2015-Saturday, May 15, 2015
  • Location: San Diego Mesa College
  • Defending Champions: Torrey Pines (girls), Carlsbad (boys)
  • 2014 Results: girls / boys
  • Championship Central

Division I – Finals

Girls’ Meet

2015 Final Results

1. Torrey Pines High School 320
2. Carlsbad High School 235
3. Fallbrook High School 203
4. Eastlake High School 177
5. Rancho Bernardo High School 171
5. Westview High School 171
7. San Marcos High School 148
8. Steele Canyon High School 116
9. El Camino High School 112
10. San Pasqual High School 105

San Marcos junior Lindsay Ladman moved up a spot from her 2014 finish to win the 200 free in 1:52.25. Kalie Novosedliak from Carlsbad (1:53.92) and Colleen Anderson of Rancho Bernardo (1:55.96) took second and third, respectively. Ladman swept the distance frees with a 4:59.36 in the 500. Novosedliak was runner-up with 5:02.46, while Anna Stephan of Scripps Ranch made it to the wall in 5:05.24 for third.

Torrey Pines junior Pina Simone, who placed second in last year’s race, won the 50 free with 24.29. Winnie Chen of San Pasqual edged Emma Thomas of Fallbrook, 24.72 to 24.79, for second. Simone doubled with a win in the 100 free as well, coming to the wall in 52.85. Rancho Bernardo’s Samantha Morris (53.35) and Austin Sojourner of El Camino (53.67) rounded out that podium.

Defending champion Amanda Sumrow of Patrick Henry won the 200 IM, this time with 2:04.06. The senior won by 2.3 seconds, with Westview’s An Nguyen (2:07.72) and Torrey Pines’ Isabela Boese (2:08.99) trailing. Westview senior Nguyen claimed the 100 breast title with 1:05.12. Boese (1:06.16) and Sandra Yang of Westview (1:08.32) picked up second and third.

The 100 fly podium was an exact replica of last year’s: junior Jordan Payne of El Camino (55.95) beat out Patrick Henry’s Sumrow (56.42) and Fallbrook’s Thomas (57.25) for the title. Payne picked up a second win in the 100 back, clocking a 56.43. Rancho Bernardo’s Morris touched out 2014 winner Julie Parsons of Otay Ranch, 57.76 to 57.80, for second.

Westview High School won the 200 medley relay with 1:52.41, while Eastlake came from behind to beat out Rancho Bernardo for the silver medal, 1:53.65 to 1:53.70.

In the 200 free relay, Fallbrook held off a charging Torrey Pines to hang onto first place by a mere .33, touching in 1:39.33. They couldn’t hang on over the longer distance, however. Torrey Pines came from behind and grabbed the title over the last leg of the relay, beating Fallbrook 3:37.15 to 3:37.79 for the 400 free relay title.

Boys’ Meet

2015 Final Results

1. Torrey Pines High School 401
2. Carlsbad High School 311
3. Fallbrook High School 215
4. Rancho Bernardo High School 210
5. Granite Hills 154
6. Poway High School 121
7. Westview High School 114
8. Patrick Henry High School 93
9. San Pasqual High School 79
10. Helix Charter 77
10. Grossmont High School 77

Fallbrook senior Robert Guerra opened the scoring in the boys’ meet with a 1:38.52 rout in the 200 free. Senior Carlos Narte from El Camino placed second in 1:41.36, ahead of Hunter Padgett of Carlsbad (1:42.15). Guerra also crushed the field in the 500 free, getting the win in 4:28.80. Padgett was second (4:35.42).

Narte took advantage of 2014 champion Guerra’s absence to win the 100 fly. Narte clocked a 46.17, which was the exact time Guerra won the event in last year. Stephen Park of Torrey Pines came in second with 46.86, ahead of Rancho Bernardo junior Tin Huynh (47.03).

Hyunh, the defending 50 free champion, went 21.46 to repeat his sprint title. Just a tick off his 2014 winning time, Hyunh nonetheless won with the only sub-22 in the field. Second and third went to Torrey Pines’ Alexandre Tete (22.11) and Carlsbad’s Noah Martin (22.30), respectively.

San Marcos junior Josh Parmenter won the 200 IM in 1:53.11; Torrey Pines teammates Ryan Parker (1:56.85) and Noah Ayers (1:58.55) came in second and third. Torrey Pines sophomore Alec Dickstein earned the crown in the 100 breast, coming to the wall in 58.31 ahead of Parmenter (58.50) and Patrick Henry freshman Carlson Temple (59.76).

Sophomore Sukhman Singh of Carlsbad earned the first of his two titles with a 51.04 to win the 100 fly. Torrey Pines’ Parker (52.80) and Ayers (53.65) went 2-3 once again. Singh then claimed victory in the 100 back, going 53.30. Dylan Reed from Grossmont (54.75) and Lorenzo DeLeon (55.17) of Vista rounded out the podium.

Carlsbad won the 200 medley relay in 1:39.43, beating Torrey Pines (1:40.07) and Patrick Henry (1:42.07). Torrey Pines dominated the free relays, winning the 200 in 1:27.47 and the 400 in 3:11.49.


Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

And the D II meet was faster and deeper…

SD Swimmer

So true! D2 had so much more talent and variety

About Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant is the mother of four daughters, all of whom swim/swam in college. With an undergraduate degree from Princeton (where she was an all-Ivy tennis player) and an MBA from INSEAD, she worked for many years in the financial industry, both in France and the U.S. Anne is currently …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!