The 2013 Minneapolis Grand Prix is about to begin, and award the first prize money of the 2013-2014 USA Swimming Grand Prix Series.

Day 2 prelims recap. 
Minneapolis Grand Prix Live Results.
Minneapolis Grand Prix Live Stream, beginning at 6PM U.S. Central Time.

The second day of events will see finals in the 200 fly, the 50 free, the 100 back, the 500 free, and 200 breast.

Check back frequently as we will be updating this page throughout the session.

Women’s 200 Butterfly – FINAL

Caitlin Leverenz in her first season as a professional won the 200 butterfly in 1:55.67. Claire Donahue of Western Kentucky was second with a time of 1:55.98. Georgia commit Megan Kingsley was third at 1:56.00.

Men’s 200 Butterfly – FINAL

Tom Luchsinger, also in his first professional season with NBAC, won the men’s 200 butterfly with his time of 1:44.42. Kyler Van Swol finished second in his first post-grad year at his home pool, and Bobby Bollier was third at 1:45.17.

Luke Bushman won the B Final 1:46.94.

Women’s 50 Freestyle – FINAL

Megan Romano, in her first post-grad year after swimming at Georgia the last four years, won the 50 freestyle at 22.44. Minnesota’s Rebecca Weiland was second with a time of 22.50, which currently stands as the fourth fastest NCAA time in the country this season. Her teammate, Erin Caflisch, had a third place finish in 22.66, also good for the 8th fastest time in the NCAA this year.

Annie Ochitwa won the B Final in 22.98.

Men’s 50 Freestyle – FINAL

Cesar Cielo is bringing back great memories from his short course yards career. He won the men’s 50 freestyle in 18.83! Adam Brown added a second place finish with a 19.15. Bruno Fratus, who will be joining the Auburn post-grad group in the spring, was third with his 19.48. Minnesota’s Derek Toomey finished fourth at 19.68. He was 19.61, which leads the NCAA by almost .30.

Purdue’s Danny Tucker, won the B Final with a 20.01.

Women’s 100 Backstroke – FINAL

Megan Romano wins again! She held on to win with a time of 52.80. Minnesota senior Tess Behrens was second with a new NCAA leading time of 52.91. She is the first college swimmer to break 53 this year. Mickayla Hinkle, 17, finished third at 53.70.

Megan Kinsley won the B Final with a time of 54.42.

Men’s 100 Backstroke – FINAL 

David Plummer, a former swimmer at Minnesota, won the men’s 100 backstroke in a time of 46.56. It was a very close race with Arkady Vyatchanin, who was second in 46.62. Minnesota freshman, Daryl Turner, was third with his time of 47.63. His time will stand as the third fastest time in the NCAA this season. 17 year old Ryan Harty finished in fourth place at 47.77.

Minnesota swimmer Carl Newenhouse won the B Final in 49.46.

Women’s 500 Freestyle – FINAL

Minnesota’s Kiera Janzen won the women’s 500 freestyle with the second fastest NCAA time this season. Her teammate, Samantha Harding, finished second at 4:43.01 with the fifth fastest NCAA time in the country. Ashley Steenvoorden was the third with her time of 4:44.57.

Minnesota’s Jessica Plant won the B Final with is time of 4:48.95.

Men’s 500 Freestyle – FINAL

NBAC teammates Conor Dwyer, Yanick Agnel, and Matt McLean put on an amazing show during the men’s 500 freestyle. Dwyer led his teammates to a 1-2-3 finish with the 9th fastest time ever swam, 4:10.60! Agnel was fighting incredibly hard to run down Dywer, but it was not enough in the end. He finished second at 4:10.69. McLean was third at 4:14.27. Lobensev and Klueh both finished under 4:16.

Michael Weiss won the B Final in 4:23.14.

Women’s 200 Breaststroke – FINAL

Minnesota’s Kierra Smith won the women’s 200 breaststroke in 2:06.43. Her time blows away the fastest NCAA time swum this year. She now holds the fastest time of the year by almost four seconds. She had a great race with NCAA Champion Haley Spencer, who finished second with a 2:06.99. Caitlin Leverenz finished third in 2:12.02.

Laura Day won the B Final in 2:17.78.

Men’s 200 Breaststroke – FINAL

BJ Johnson won the 200 breaststroke with a 1:53.79. Carlos Almeida, who trains with the University of Louisville, finished second with his time of 1:54.70. Brad Craig finished third at 1:55.19.

Purdue’s Lyam Dias finished fourth at 1:55.60, but that time is the fastest collegiate time we have seen this year by almost two seconds.


Leave a Reply

6 Comment threads
2 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
C Martin

It appears Cesar hurt his hand….

…..but that’s what an 18.83 will do!

He must be without the timing to swim 50 yard, after all the time swimming LCM.The time is not bad for an untapered and unrested swim, but i hope he recovers well(if he damaged his hand) because between 18-21 of december he will swim Open Championships, what is a trial for PanPac championships.


Amazing stuff from Cesar wow Adam was literally with him the whole time splash and dash

C Martin

4:10.60 Dwyer!
4:10.69 Agnel!


About Tony Carroll

Tony Carroll

The writer formerly known as "Troy Gennaro", better known as Tony Carroll, has been working with SwimSwam since April of 2013. Tony grew up in northern Indiana and started swimming in 2003 when his dad forced him to join the local swim team. Reluctantly, he joined on the condition that …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!