Three American Records Fall on Day 1 of the Para Swimming World Series – Minneapolis

2023 Para Swimming World Series 

  • April 20-23, 2023
  • Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center, Minneapolis, MN 
  • LCM 
  • Results 

Three American Records fell on the first night of the 2023 Para Swimming World Series in Minneapolis, Minnesota. In addition to serving as a high-level competition for para swimmers around the world, the meet is also serving as this year’s Team USA qualifying meet for the Manchester 2023 Para Swimming World Championships that are slated to take place this summer. 

In the first event of the meet, two-time Paralympic gold medalist Elizabeth Marks won the women’s 100-meter freestyle in record time taking the American record with a time of 1:13.16 competing in the S6 class. Six-time Paralympic medalist McKenzie Coan finished second out of the S7 class with a 1:12.10. Three-time Paralympic gold medalist Maria Carolina Gomes Santiago came in third representing Brazil, touching the wall with a 59.65 in the S12 class.

Another American, Morgan Ray won the men’s 100 breaststroke in record-breaking fashion. Ray, who competes in the SB6 class touched in a time of 1:23.93 to break the American Record in the event. Paralympian David Abrahams grabbed the silver medal competing in the S13 class, swimming a time of 1:09.34. In the same event, Trevor Lukacsko claimed the American Record in the SB14 class, swimming a time of 1:14.68. 

Colleen Young claimed another US victory in the women’s 100 breaststroke, swimming the top time in the field with her 1:16.28 out of the SB13 class. The aforementioned Maria Carolina Gomes Santiago came in second out of the SB12 class with her 1:17.25. Another SB13 competitor, American Olivia Chambers, dropped almost 2 seconds off of her entry time to finish 3rd with a 1:18.29. 

Mexican S4 competitors Angel De Jesus Camacho Ramirez and Gustavo Ramon Sanchez Martinez went 1-2 in the men’s 200 freestyle. The pair posted times of 3:08.14 and 3:08.51, finishing about .4 apart. The aforementioned Lukacsko was another .3 behind Martinez to post a 2:08.82 out of the S14 class for the bronze. 

S9 Frenchman Ugo Didier claimed the men’s 100 freestyle, dropping a 57.50 to finish 2.5 seconds ahead of fellow S9 swimmer Jamal Hill, who ended up finishing third in the event with his 1:00.02. Noah Jaffe ended up sandwiched between the two as the S8 swimmer posted a 1:00.82 for second. 

Event Winners: 

  • Women’s 100m Freestyle – Elizabeth Marks (USA), S6 – AMERICAN RECORD
  • Men’s 100m Freestyle – Ugo Didier (France), S9 
  • Women’s 50m Breaststroke – Nely Edith Miranda Herrera (Mexico), SB3
  • Men’s 50m Breaststroke – Arnulfo Castorena (Mexico), SB2
  • Women’s 100m Breaststroke – Colleen Young (USA), SB13 
  • Men’s 100m Breaststroke – Morgan Ray (USA), SB6 – AMERICAN RECORD 
  • Women’s 200m Freestyle – Piper Sadowski (USA), S14
  • Men’s 200m Freestyle – Angel De Jesus Camacho Ramirez (Mexico), S4


Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Nicole Miller

Nicole Miller

Nicole has been with SwimSwam since April 2020, as both a reporter and social media contributor. Prior to joining the SwimSwam platform, Nicole also managed a successful Instagram platform, amassing over 20,000 followers. Currently, Nicole is pursuing her B.S. in Biomedical Engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. After competing for the swim …

Read More »