Swim Cup Eindhoven, finals recap day 4


The 2016 edition of the Swim Cup Eindhoven, Netherlands, is an Olympic qualification event and also the competition schedule has been set follwing the Rio timetable for the swimmers this summer: Heats start at 12.00 pm, B-finals at 7 pm and A-finals at 9 pm. In Rio, heats will start at 12.00 pm, finals at 10 pm. The Swim Cup Eindhoven offers with a great facility and atmosphere a possibility to compete under the unusual Olympic schedule – and tonight was the third finals session with many of  the top athletes from the Netherlands, Belgium, Serbia, Germany, and Denmark, among other nations.


Women’s 100 m Freestyle – IPC Seminfinals

Marlou van der Kulk (SB14, NED) won the women’s 100 m freestyle multi-class semifnal in a time of 1:00,17 earning 959 points. Luisette Bruinsma (S11, NED) finished second in a time of 1:08,64 scoring 942 points followed by Zulfiya Gabidulina (SB3, Kazakhstan) who hit the wall in a 1:39,26 earning 938 points.

Men’s 200 m Freestyle – IPC Final

Bas Takken (S10, NED) took the men’s 200 m  freestyle multi-class in a time of 2:00,14 scoring 865 points – his time is a new Dutch IPC record. Michael Schoenmaker (S4, NED) finished second in a time of 3:05,07 earning 857 IPC points, he also sets a new national IPC record.  Olivier van de Voort (S10, NED) took the third place in a time of 2:00,62 scoring 854.

Men’s 50 m Breaststroke – A Final

Fastest three into tonight’s fnals were: Timon Evenhuis, NED, in 27,92 followed by Germany’s Hendrik Feldwehr in 28,26 and George Bovell from Trinidad and Tobago in 28,47. Hendrik Feldwehr (GER) touched for the win in the final in 28,10, Timon Evenhuis picked up the silver in a time of 28,20 and George Bovell touched third in 28,29.


1. Hendrik Feldwehr GER 28.10
2. Timon Evenhuis NED 28.20
3. George Bovell Trinidad &Tobago 28.29
4. Arno Kamminga NED  28.51
5. Ties Elzerman NED 28.56
6. Kasper Leeuw NED 28.75
7. Kingue Struijf NED  28.76
8. Jordan Kraaijenhof NED  28.99

Women’s 800 m Freestyle – A Final

Eight Dutch ladies battled for the win in the long distance race: Serena Stel hit the wall first in 9:07,09, ahead of Laura Setz in a time of 9:10,04. Jill Benne picked up the bronze in 9:13,59.


1. Serena Stel  9:07.09
2. Laura Setz Nova 9:10.04
3. Jill Benne  9:13.59
4. Evelien van Ruiten 9:21.75
5. Lisanne Hassing 9:26.76
6. Marij van der Mast  9:27.72
7. Janina Beckers 9:34.47
8. Annemarie Meijer 9:36.98

Men’s 100 m Backstroke – Semifinals

Guy Barnea, Israel, swam the fastest time this morning in 54.96. Christian Diener finished second in 55.78 and Carl-Lois Schwarz came in with the third fastest time in 56,02. In the first semifinal, Diener was out very fast and finished with a body length ahead of the field in 55,43. Guy Barnea took the win in the second semifinal in 55,05. No swimmer went under the FINA A cut which is a time of 54,36.

Top 8 qualifiers:

1. Guy Barnea 55.05
2. Christian Diener 55.43
3. Carl-Louis Schwarz  55.64
4. Felix Wolf 57.07
5. Jelle Betten 57.78
6. Jurjen Willemsen 58.40
7. Luuk Nijland 59.13
8. Martin Ruiter 59.21


Women’s 100 m Breaststroke – Semifinals

Honkong’s Yvette Man-Yi Kong managed to swim under the FINA A cut in the heats in 1:07,69. But Rikke Möller Pedersen swam the best time in the semifinals in 1:07,26, Yvette Man-Yi Kong posted a 1:08,64 for the second seed in tomorrow’s final, ahead of Anouk Elzermann in 1:08,63. Moller Pedersen’s swim puts her into the top 15 in the 2016 world ranking.

Top 8 qualifiers:

1. Rikke Møller Pedersen 1:07.26
2. Yvette Man-Yi 1:08.64
3. Anouk Elzerman  1:09.63
4. Alice Ruhnau 1:10.56
5. Michelle Lambert 1:10.77
6. Caroline Ruhnau 1:11.10
7. Rosey Metz 1:11.77
8. Uma Kraus  1:12.01


Men’s 100 m Butterfly – A Final

Joeri Verlinden showed a great performance in the 100 m butterfly in the semifinal: He touched in 51,79, a new Eindhoven Swim Cup meet record and the fifth fastest time in the world in 2016 so far. In tonight’s final, he won the event in 52,06.


1. Joeri Verlinden 52.06
2. Laurent Bams 53.90
3. Geoffrey Cheah  53.95
4. Nyls Korstanje  54.55 Netherlands record for 17 years old
5. Yamiko Steenhoek  54.89
6. Thom de Boer De Dolfijn 55.02
7. Ensger Kotterink Albion 55.29
8. Fabian Beimin ZPC AMERSFOORT  55.79


Women’s 200 m Butterfly – A Final

Germany’s Lisa Höpink was the top seed for the final, she clocked 2:14,40 ahead of two other German teenagers:  Julia Mrozinski (2:16,60) and Leonie Goebels in 2:18,96. But in the final, Julia Mrozinski took the win in 2:11,59, Höpink finished second in 2:13,15 and Anja Crevar touched third in 2:14,12.


1. Julia Mrozinski SG Frankfurt 2:11.59
2. Lisa Höpink SG Essen 2:13.15
3. Anja Crevar Serbia 2:14.12
4. Kinge Zandringa  2:19.12
5. Lisa Dreesens PSV 2:22.03
6. Judith van Meijel 2:24.35
7. Alinda Dingshoff  2:25.11
8. Kelly McKenzie NIMO 2:30.33

Men’s 200 m Freestyle – Semifinals

Under the  FINA A cut  of 1:47,97 standard was Netherland’s Maarten Brzoskowski in 1:47.75 as the top seed for the semifinal. And he went even faster in the semifinal with a time of 1:47,36. Sebastian Verschuren reached in for the second place in 1:47,55 ahead of Glenn Surgeloose who finished in a time of 1:48,96.

Top 8 qualifiers:

1. Maarten Brzoskowski  1:47.36
2. Sebastiaan Verschuren 1:47.55
3. Glenn Surgeloose 1:48.96
4. Velimir Stjepanovic  1:48.97
5. Jacob Heidtmann 1:49.23
6. Damian Wierling 1:49.34
7. Poul Zellmann  1:49.38
8. Kyle Stolk 1:49.44


Women’s 100 m Freestyle – Semifinals

Olympic Chamion Ranomi Kromowidjojo broke in the top three in the world rankings with her time of 53,21. In the heats of the 100 m freestyle  she finished third in 54,43, her season best was a 53,31. Denmark’s Jeanette Ottesen was the only women who finished under FINA A cut of 54,43 in the morning heats. Ottesen touched the wall in the third fastest time in 53,94, Femke Heemskerk posted a 53,87 – fast enough for the ninth place in the current world ranking. 16-year-old Marrit Steenbergen set a new age group record in 54,70.

Top 8 qualifiers:

1. Ranomi Kromowidjojo  53.21
2. Femke Heemskerk  53.87
3. Jeanette Ottesen 53.95
4. Marrit Steenbergen 54.70 Netherlands Age Group Record – 16 years old
5. Maud van der Meer  54.83
6. Esmee Vermeulen 54,98
7. Robin Neumann 55.18
8. Kim Busch 55.68

Tomorrow is the last day of this year’s Swim Cup Eindhoven.


Recap day 3

Recap day 2

Recap day 1




In This Story

Leave a Reply

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!