Canadian Divers Take Four Titles in Gatineau

The team of Canada collected four gold medals in the fourth leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2016, held in Gatineau (CAN) from April 7-10. China, the diving powerhouse, was slightly better than the locals, getting five titles out of the 10 events contested in the competition. Matthieu Rosset, from France, was the winner in the men’s 3m springboard.

The Chinese divers were stronger in the two mixed events (3m and 10m), dominated the women’s 3m (individual and synchro) and got one gold in the men’s competition – by Zewei Xu/Bowen Huang in the 10m platform synchro.

Canada had two triumphs among men (individual 10m and synchro 3m), and another two gold medals in the women’s field – thanks to experienced Roseline Filion in the 10m, who also paired successfully with Meaghan Benfeito in the synchro event.

The list of other countries with medals in Gatineau included Sweden, Japan, Australia and Switzerland.

The fifth meet of the FINA Diving Grand Prix (with a total of eight legs) will be staged in Bolzano (ITA) on July 15-17.


3m springboard: 1. Matthieu Rosset (FRA), 504.15; 2. Philippe Gagné (CAN), 469.55; 2. Zhiyi Sun (CHN), 469.55
10m platform: 1. Vincent Riendeau (CAN), 467.70; 2. Junjie Lian (CHN), 452.80; 3. Jesper Tolvers (SWE), 427.40
3m springboard synchro: 1. François Imbeau-Dulac/Philippe Gagné (CAN), 402.12; 2. Zhiyi Sun/Jianfeng Peng (CHN), 399.48; 3. Peter Thach Mai/Felix Leathead (CAN), 373.62
10m platform synchro: 1. Zewei Xu/Bowen Huang (CHN), 435.60; 2. Alexis Jandard/Lois Szymczak (FRA), 337.53

3m springboard: 1. Chunting Wu (CHN), 357.95; 2. Pamela Ware (CAN), 332.25; 3. Jennifer Abel (CAN), 327.10
10m platform: 1. Roseline Filion (CAN), 377.00; 2. Minami Itahashi (JPN), 375.00; 3. Nana Sasaki (JPN), 353.80
3m springboard synchro: 1. Chunting Wu/Zhihuan Xu (CHN), 314.40; 2. Pamela Ware/Jennifer Abel (CAN), 300.30; 3. Anabelle Smith/Maddison Keeney (AUS), 297.39
10m platform synchro: 1. Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN), 321.18; 2. Jinming Li/Miya Suo (CHN), 312.60; 3. Nana Sasaki/Matsuri Arai (JPN), 309.36

3m springboard synchro: 1. Chunting Wu/Bowen Huang (CHN), 315.24; 2. François Imbeau-Dulac/Jennifer Abel (CAN), 302.85; 3. Jessica Favre/Guillaume Dutoit (SUI), 254.61
10m platform synchro: 1. Miya Suo/Junjie Lian (CHN), 343.98; 2. Vincent Riendeau/Meaghan Benfeito (CAN), 316.68

Swimming news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »