Spartaquatics Sweeps Women’s Events on Final Night of YMCA Festival: Greensboro


  • Wednesday, March 31 – Saturday, April 3, 2021
  • Greensboro Aquatic Center, Greensboro, NC
  • Theme: Superheroes!
  • SCY
  • Championship Format
  • Results on Meet Mobile as “2021 YMCA Swimming Festival – Greensboro”
  • Results (PDF) 
  • Day 1 Recap 
  • Day 2 Recap
  • Day 3 Recap 

Spartaquatics Swim Club and the YMCA of the Triangle Area closed out the final night of the YMCA Spring Festival in Greensboro by taking the team titles. Spartaquatics finished first on the women’s side with a total of 930 points, while YOTA finished as the runner-up with 609.5 points. YOTA also took the men’s team title and the overall team title, scoring 813 and 1422.5 points in each of the categories. 

Although there are no official YMCA National Championships this season, the festival is designed to serve as an unofficial multi-site substitute for the Championships. More information about the festival can be found here

17-year-old Jenna Bridges kicked-off the night for Spartaquatics by winning the 1650 freestyle in a best time of 16:55.63, knocking almost 5 seconds off of her personal best. For Bridges, the swim marked her first time under 17 minutes in the event, as her old best stood at 17:00.50.

Bridges’ teammate Kirsti McEnroe then won the 100 freestyle with a time of 49.43, chopping .2 off of her best time. The 16 year-old dipped under the :50 second barrier for the first time with her swim, winning the race by almost a second. 

14-year-old Hayden Penny kept the Spartaquatics winning streak alive by coming in first in the 200 backstroke, touching in a time of 1:58.99. Penny sliced almost a full second off of her best time in the event, which previously stood at a 1:59.92. 

Annika McEnroe, the older of the two McEnroe sisters, won the 200 breaststroke by almost 6 seconds, finishing with a time of 2:10.44. The Cal commit chopped almost 2 seconds off of her best time with her swim. Notably, McEnroe’s time would have been the 2nd-fastest time on Cal’s roster this past season, less than a half second shy of an NCAA invite in the event, as 2:10.12 was the cut-line in the event. 

The women from Spartaquatics made it a sweep of the night’s events, along with the relays, by winning the 400 free relay. The team of Camrynn Wilson, Penny, along with Kirsti and Annika McEnroe won in a time of 3:23.52, with Kirsti McEnroe splitting a 49.70 on the anchor leg. 

Combined, the McEnroe sisters won 8 individual events and swam on 5 winning relays, scoring 80 points each with their individual victories. 

McEnroe Sisters Victories Throughout the Meet: 


  • 200 IM: 2:00.08
  • 400 IM: 4:13.11
  • 200 fly: 1:57.73
  • 200 breast: 2:10.44


  • 500 free: 4:53.42
  • 200 free: 1:48.06
  • 100 back: 55.57
  • 100 free: 49.43


  • 200 Medley Relay: 1:44.38
  • 200 Free Relay: 1:33.79
  • 400 Free Relay: 3:23.52
  • 400 Medley Relay: 3:44.35
  • 800 Free Relay: 7:25.39

On the men’s side, 16-year-old Dax Harris led the way in the 1650 freestyle, winning in a time of 16:05.87. Behind Harris, his 15-year-old teammate Andrew Seeber dropped over a minute off of his best time to finish second in 16:24.92. 

YOTA’s Ryan Hardy narrowly defeated GCY’s Ethan Womble to win the 100 freestyle, as the pair touched in times of 46.00 and 46.03, respectively. With his swim, Hardy slashed over a second off of his best time, breaking the 47 second mark for the first time. 

Hardy’s teammate Ross Noble won the 200 backstroke, touching in a final time of 1:47.55, beating GCY’s Robert Tars by .05. Tars touched in a personal best time of 1:47.60, dropping 2 seconds off of his previous best of 1:49.62. Noble also set a personal best with his swim, cutting .2 off of his best time.

YOTA’s John Reese Taylor won the final individual event of the night by taking first in the 200 breaststroke, where he touched in 2:00.17. With his performance, Taylor dropped 2 seconds off of his personal best.

YOTA closed out the night by taking victory in the 400 freestyle relay, dropping over 5 seconds off of their seed time to touch in a time of 3:03.93. The team of Kyle Mizell, Lucas Ansede, Taylor, and Hardy defeated Greensboro’s team by less than a second en route to victory. 

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Nicole Miller

Nicole Miller

Nicole has been with SwimSwam since April 2020, as both a reporter and social media contributor. Prior to joining the SwimSwam platform, Nicole also managed a successful Instagram platform, amassing over 20,000 followers. Currently, Nicole is pursuing her B.S. in Biomedical Engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute, where she is an active …

Read More »