Redhawks Maier, Padavic Top Performers At Miami Classic Invitational

2024 Miami Classic Invitational

Courtesy: Miami Redhawks

OXFORD, Ohio – The Miami University men and women’s swimming and diving teams finished strong after day one of the Miami Classic. The women are currently in first (508 points) ahead of the University of Miami (146 points) and Youngstown State University (YSU) (74 points). The men are leading with 475 points ahead of YSU (98 points) and Cleveland State University (23 points).

How It Happened:

OXFORD, Ohio — The Miami University men’s and women’s swimming teams finished the weekend with dual wins in the Miami Classic. The women finished first out of three teams with 1,491 points and the men did as well with 1,287

How It Happened:

  • The afternoon kicked off with the 1650 freestyle and top finishes all around. For the women, Maier placed first with a time of 16:32.64 along with Audrey Conley in second (17:02.72) and Antonowich in third (17:10.65). For the men, Barrows placed first (16:05.69) and George Clark in second (16:25.64)
  • In the 200 backstroke, Madeline Padavic placed first for the women with a time of 1:57.73 alongside Cakuls in second (1:58.03) and Chrisna Bezuidenhout in third (2:01.03). For the men, Mason Miller finished first (1:49.60), Jacobs in second (1:49.97) and Clark Pabst in third (1:51.35).
  • In the 100 freestyle, Djokovic finished first (45.64), Kevin Donaldson second (46.46) and Ian Arnold third (46.97). For the women, Brodie-Foy came in first (50.22), Kolbeck in second (50.49) and Taylor Connors in third (50.86).
  • Other first-place finishes included Brooke-Lynn Clark (2:20.25) and Benjamin Eichberg in the in the 200 breaststroke (2:02.52) as well as Szczupakiewicz (2:03.40) and Perseguin (1:47.98) in the 200 butterfly.
  • Second place went to Maddie Zehr (2:20.66) and Ian Wihebrink (2:02.85) in the 200 breaststroke as well as Makayla Hoehn (2:05.87) and Cotton (1:48.17) in the 200 butterfly.
  • Final third-place finishers of the day were Caitlin Horn (2:21.37) and Likitin (2:04.61) in the 200 breaststroke and Madison Saldanha (2:06.75) and Spear (1:50.62) in the 200 butterfly.

Up Next: 
The Women’s MAC Championships will take place in Athens, Ohio from Wednesday, Feb. 28 through Saturday, March 2. The men’s MAC Championships will be held in Carbondale, Ill. from Wednesday, March 6 through Saturday, March 9.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments