Mexico’s Para Swimming Team Announced for Rio 2016

The Mexican National Paralympic Committee has announced the 19 swimmers that will represent the country at Rio 2016, three more than at London 2012.

“This is going to be my second Paralympic Games, I am meeting my objectives and believe can perform good in Rio,” said triple Parapan American champion Luis Armando Andrade.

“I will try to reach the podium in the 100m butterfly S8.”

Highlighting the team are seven Paralympic medallists: Juan Ignacio Reyes, Patricia Valle, Nely Miranda, Gustavo Sánchez, Arnulfo Castorena, Doramitzi González and Pedro Rangel.

“I feel happy and proud to represent my country at Rio 2016,” said Valle, who will compete this year at her fifth successive Paralympic Games.

“I want to climb onto the first step of the podium again. Besides, thanks to my experience I will be able to help the younger swimmers to get better prepared for the Games.”

Full roster:


Juan Ignacio Reyes Gonzalez

Gustavo Ramon Sanchez Martinez

Edgar Hugo Pineda Castro

Jesus Hernandez

Jose Arnulfo Castorena Velez

Pedro Rangel Haro

Diego Lopez Diaz

Cristopher Gregorio Tronco Sanchez

Luis Armando Andrade Guillen

Raul Alberto Martinez Valdes



Nely Edith Miranda Herrera

Patricia Valle Benitez

Stefanny Rubi Cristino Zapata

Vianney Marlen Trejo Delgadillo

Valeria Monserrat Lopez Gomez

Doramitzi Gonzalez Hernandez

Haidee Viviana Aceves Perez

Maria de Jesus Delgadillo Monsivais

Fabiola Ramirez Martinez

Swimming news courtesy of Paralympic Movement.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »