Larkin Sets New All Comers Record in the 200 Backstroke

Mireia Belmonte


  • Saturday December 12th-Friday December 18th, 2015
  • Brisbane Aquatic Centre (50m)
  • Saturday December 12th – timed finals relay events – 9:00 am local (7:00 pm EST/4:00 pm PST)
  • December 13th-December 18th – Prelims – 9:00 am local (7:00 pm EST/4:00 pm PST)
  • December 13th-December 18th – Finals – 6:00 pm local (3:00 am EST/midnight PST)
  • Event Details
  • Entry Lists
  • Event Schedule
  • Results

Mitch Larkin stole the headlines on the third night of the 2015 Queensland Championships winning the men’s 200 backstroke in a time of 1:53.72. Larkin set a new all comers record with his winning time breaking the mark of 1:54.02 set by Ryosuke Irie in 2012. 

The time is Larkin’s third fastest performance of the season. He took the event at the world cup in Tokyo in a 1:53.34 and than again in Dubai where he set a new Australian Record posting a 1:53.17.

  • Dubai – 26.39/55.16 (28.77)/1:24.66 (29.50)/1:53.17 (28.51)
  • Brisbane – 26.73/55.87 (29.14)/1:25.08 (29.21)/1:53.72 (28.64)

Larkin won the event this evening in Brisbane by over nine seconds.

The women’s event was a lot closer as 100 backstroke world championship gold and silver medalists went head to head. Madison Wilson had a lead of 37 one-hundredths of a second over Emily Seebohm at the 150 meter mark. Seebohm out swam Wilson in the final 50 meters by over half a second posting a final split of 30.98 compared to Wilson’s 31.76.

Seebohm took the event in a time of 2:07.43 followed by Wilson who recorded a 2:07.84. Wilson’s time is a lifetime best and puts her fourth in the world rankings.

Madeline Groves dominated the women’s 200 butterfly winning the event by over four seconds. Groves posted a time of 2:06.36, which puts her in the top spot in the world rankings.

2015-2016 LCM Women 200 FLY

View Top 26»

The men’s event came down to the wire. Chris Wright had a lead of over a second and a half over David Morgan at the 150 meter mark. Morgan had a superb final 50 meters making up that lead and more winning the event in a time of 1:57.40. Wright finished second in a time of 1:57.55.

  • Morgan – 26.66/56.88 (30.22)/1:27.46 (30.58)/1:57.40 (29.94)
  • Wright – 25.73/55.30 (29.57)/1:25.91 (30.61)/1:57.55 (31.64)

Ellen Fullerton won the women’s 200 Im in a time of 2:12.34. She was followed by Bronte Barratt who recorded a 2:13.52 and Taylor McKeown who finished in a time of 2:14.05.

Clyde Lewis swept the men’s IM events winning the 200 in a time of 2:02.02.


In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Andrew Majeske
7 years ago

Larkin set a “new world record” in 200 BK at Dubai? With a 1:53:1? News to me…

Reply to  Andrew Majeske
7 years ago

No, Dubai was a long course meet and Aaron Peirsol still has his world record. Larkin set the short course WR 1:45:63 in Sydney few weeks ago

About Jeff Grace

Jeff Grace

Jeff is a 500 hour registered yoga teacher who holds diplomas in Coaching (Douglas College) and High Performance Coaching (National Coaching Institute - Calgary). He has a background of over 20 years in the coaching profession, where he has used a unique and proven teaching methodology to help many achieve their …

Read More »