Jacob Pebley set the goal of never going 2:00 this season (Video)

Reported by James Sutherland.


  • American Record: 1:51.92, Aaron Peirsol, 2009
  • U.S. Open Record: 1:53.08, Aaron Peirsol, 2009
  • LC National Meet Record: 1:53.08, Aaron Peirsol, 2009
  • FINA ‘A’ Standard: 1:58.55
  1. Ryan Murphy, CAL, 1:54.30
  2. Jacob Pebley, CAL, 1:54.78
  3. Robert Owen, HOKI, 1:57.17

The Cal duo of Ryan Murphy and Jacob Pebley came through as expected tonight, going 1-2 in times of 1:54.30 and 1:54.78 respectively. Murphy was out from the start, out in 26.91 at the 50. Pebley essentially matched his splits from there, coming within a hundredth of his PB from 1:54.77.

Robert Owen held 3rd throughout the race, touching in 1:57.17, with Sean Lehane 4th (1:57.33) and Austin Katz 5th (1:57.60).

Bryce Mefford (1:58.63) and Alessandro Boratto (2:00.87) won the B and C-finals respectively.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Coleman Hodges

Coleman Hodges

Coleman started his journey in the water at age 1, and although he actually has no memory of that, something must have stuck. A Missouri native, he joined the Columbia Swim Club at age 9, where he is still remembered for his stylish dragon swim trunks. After giving up on …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!