University of Iowa Wins Hawkeye Invitational for Second Straight Year

Full meet results here.

The University of Iowa men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams won the Hawkeye Invitational this past weekend for a second straight year. Although Denver men’s swimming posted impressive result on the final day of competition it wasn’t enough to beat Iowa. The Hawkeye men’s team finished day 3 of the competition with 923 points, just 18 points ahead of University of Denver (905). The women finished the meet with 900 points, almost 100 points ahead of 2nd place finishers University of Denver (802)

The final session of the meet started with the 1650-yard free for both men and women. Denver took the titles in both these events, with Tyra Rooney touching the women’s heat first in a time of 16:27.10 and Dylan Bunch taking the men’s heat in 14:56.97, way ahead of 2nd place finisher and teammate Scot Bergstrom (15:22.50). Teammates Morg McCormick and Jared Smith both went on to win the women’s and men’s 200 back in a NCAA B cut times of 1:56.03 and 1:45.27 respectively.

Drury swimmer Wen Xu stopped the Denver winning streak of the evening, finishing the women’s 100-yard free in 49.09, a new meet record and NCAA B cut. In the men’s final of the 100-yard free, Denver sprinters Ryno Bornman and Kyle Robrock touched 1-2, both finishing in meet record time of 43.17 and 43.35 respectively.

The Pioneers had yet another first place finish when Amanda Sanders finished the 200-yard breast in NCAA B cut time of 2:08.76, just under a second away from the A cut. She finished almost 6 seconds ahead of the field, with Iowa’s Colleen Champa placing 2nd in 2:15.13 and teammate Emma Sougstad placing 3rd in 2:15.29.

Iowa’s Roman Trussov took the first win of the night for the Hawkeyes in the men’s 200-yard breast (1:56.18), touching more than 2 seconds ahead of Drury’s Andrea Bazzoli (1:58.97) and Denver’s Timothy Cottam (1:59.32).

Both the women’s and men’s 200-yard fly was dominated by the Hawkeyes with first place finishes and NCAA B cuts from Terey Lehnertz winning the women’s event (1:59.43) and Jerz Twarowski winning the men’s event (1:45.41).

The final event of the invite was the 400 free relay, where the Hawkeyes women A team of Olivia Kabacinski, Sougstad, Nikol Lagodzinska and Carly O’Brien touched first in 3:20.58, just ahead of the Pioneers A team (3:21.68). The Pioneers were victorious in the men’s event, the A team of Bornman, Robrock, Clarence Guillory and Luke Williams finished in 2:54.56, Iowa’s A team finished 2nd in 2:56.37 and Drury’s A team was 3rd in 2:57.06.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Dive lvr
5 years ago

I know it’s called “swimswam” and not “dive/dove” BUT WHERE ARE DIVING RESULTS???

About Lani Cabrera

Lani Cabrera

My name is Lani Cabrera and I’m from a small island in the Caribbean called Barbados. I am a senior on the swim team at Florida Gulf Coast University and I also swim for the Barbados National Team. I am studying Public Relations here at FGCU and I have always had …

Read More »