Paul DeLakis Smashes 200 IM Record on Day 5 of YMCA Nationals


Note: Both YMCA Swimming Central and Results links haven’t been working, showing “service unavailable”. In this case, results can also be found on Meet Mobile. 

200 Fly

Coming off of a win in the 500 free on day 4 finals, Courtney Harnish of York went on to dominate the first event of the night, winning the 200 fly in a time of 1:56.92, just off of her meet record time done last year; 1:54.37. Behind her was a fight for 2nd, when Emma Seiberlich of Phoenixville (1:59.26) touched just ahead of Anna Durak of Hickory (1:59.88).

In the men’s event, it was Daniel Hein of Kishwaukee who out touched Corey Gambardella for the first place title, finishing in times of 1:46.40 and 1:46.43 respectively. 3rd in the A final was Aric Plamondon, who finished the event in 1:49.15.

100 Free

The women’s 50 freestyle champion; Ky-Lee Perry of Wilton, went on to show her strength in the sprint field, winning the 100 free in a time of 48.79, just shy of the current record; 48.50. 2nd place went to Olivia Schmelzer of Lancaster, who also broke the 50 second barrier, clocking in in 49.52 and 3rd place was a tie, when Abbey Berloco and Camryn Forbes both touched the pads in 50.15.

On the men’s side, it was John Whiteside of Westport who took his first victory of the meet, winning in a time of 44.17, out touching Hugo Sykes of Wilton (44.68) and Austin Katz of Sarasota (44.89).

200 IM

Meghan Small of York dominated the women’s 200 IM, finishing just off of her record time, touching in 1:55.86, almost 5 seconds ahead of 2nd place finisher Ali Galyer (2:00.03) and 3rd place finisher Kaitlynn Wheeler (2:00.32).

For the men, it was 400 IM champion Paul DeLakis who took the title when he touched the pads in 1:46.36, defeating the 7-year old record of 1:47.09 done in 2009 by Woody Joye. Just behind DeLakis was Grant House of Countryside, who clocked in in 1:47.82, and Brian McKenrick of UpperMainLine, who took 3rd in 1:50.38.

400 Free Relay

York went on to win another relay title of the meet, when the A team of Leah Braswell, Emily Ilgenfritz, Harnish and Small clocked in in 3:20.96, almost 2 seconds ahead of 2nd place finishers, the Middle Tyger A team.

In the men’s A final, it was Countryside’s A team of Matt SlabeJacob PeloquinJack German and House who touched first in a time of 3:01.36, ahead of Sarasota (3:02.24) and Middle Tyger (3:05.03).

1650 Free

16:10.76 was the fastest time posted in the 1650 free, by Schroeder’s Cassy Jernberg, who finished more than 7 seconds ahead of York’s Braswell (16:18.71), and Boise’s Abbey Erwin (16:22.91).

Sarasota’s defending champion and record holder Drew Clark took the victory in the A final of the men’s 1650 free, touching in 15:09.24, just shy of his record time; 15:07.83. Ross Dant of Hickory was 2nd, clocking in in a time of 15:12.68, behind him was Clark’s teammate Danny Erlenmeyer, who finished in a time of 15:25.15.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Katrina Radke
8 years ago

Congrats Paul!

About Lani Cabrera

Lani Cabrera

My name is Lani Cabrera and I’m from a small island in the Caribbean called Barbados. I am a senior on the swim team at Florida Gulf Coast University and I also swim for the Barbados National Team. I am studying Public Relations here at FGCU and I have always had …

Read More »