Henschel named Team MVP at Annual Texas A&M Banquet

COLLEGE STATION, Texas — The Texas A&M men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams closed out the 2014-15 school year with a celebration of the season at the annual team banquet on Saturday.

Highlighting the afternoon’s festivities were the announcement of the Aggies’ Team MVPs. Senior swimmer Sarah Henry and sophomore diver Madison Hudkins were named the women’s Team MVPs, while redshirt freshman diver Tyler Henschel earned the men’s Team MVP honor.

Henry, from Garner, N.C., was the named the Southeastern Conference Swimmer of the Year after a spectacular senior campaign that featured an NCAA Championship in the 400-yard IM. In addition to the first national title of her career, Henry also placed third in the 500 free and fourth in the 1,650 free, as well as swimming the anchor leg on the Aggies’ fourth-place 800 free relay. At the 2015 SEC Championships, Henry earned top three finishes in the 400 IM and the 500 and 1,650 freestyles.

Hudkins, from Murrieta, Calif., was the Aggies’ top entry in both the one- and three-meter dives with season-best scores of 324.05 in the one-meter and 329.90 in the three. Hudkins also earned her first trip to the NCAA Championships.

Henschel, from Sherwood Park, Alberta, was the Aggies’ leader in all three dives and won 17 diving competitions in 24 possible regular season chances. At the SEC meet, Henschel was fifth in the platform dive and ninth in the one- and three-meter dives. He also qualified to compete in all three dives at the NCAA Championships.

Women’s Team Honors

Team MVP:

Sarah Henry (Garner, N.C.), swimmer

Madison Hudkins (Murrieta, Calif.), diver

Most Improved Award:

Laura Norman (Keller, Texas), swimmer

Destine’e O’Neal (Allen, Texas), diver

Aggie Heart Award:

Katherine Huff (Augusta, Ga.), swimmer

Jody Tanner-Hansen Optimist Award:

Claire Brandt (Dallas, Texas), swimmer

Iron Woman Strength & Conditioning Award:

Sarah Henry (Garner, N.C.), swimmer

2015-16 Team Captains:

Claire Brandt, Katherine Huff and Madison Hudkins

Men’s Team Honors:


Tyler Henschel (Sherwood Park, Alberta), diver

Most Improved Award:

Zachary Stockton (Houston, Texas), diver

Trey Heye Memorial Walk-on Award:

Jonathan Tybur (The Woodlands, Texas), swimmer

Aggie Heart Award:

Mitch Glander (Kingwood, Texas), swimmer

2015-16 Team Captains:

Mitch Glander and Tyler Henschel


Swimming news courtesy of Texas A&M Swimming and Diving.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »