Four Records Go Down at the Brazilian Youth Championships

Four championship records were set on the second day of the Brazilian Youth Championships also known as the Arthur Sampaio Carepa Trophy in Recife.

The championships are separated into two youth categories, Youth I and Youth II. Youth I are athletes born in 2000 whereas Youth II are athletes born in 1999.

In the very first event Rafaela Raurich broke the girls’ Youth I competition record posting a time of 2:04.51 beating the record of 2:04.51 set by Maria Paul Heitmann last year.

In the next final Heitmann took the girls’ Youth II 200 freestyle in a time of 2:01.20 also a new championship record. She was also only four one-hundredths of a second away from being the fastest 16 year old in South American history a distinction that belongs to Giovanna Diamante who posted a 2:01.16 last year.

The other two records were set in the 4 x 100 medley relays.

In the girls’ relay Curitibano shaved a second and a half off of the old record of 4:24.14, held by the Pinheiros, taking the event in a time of 4:22.67.

In the boys’ relay the Pinheiros beat the record 3:53.30 set by another relay from their home club. They won the event in a time of 3:52.95 almost seven seconds ahead of the Corinthians.

Arthur Cury took the boys’ Youth I 200 freestyle in a time of 1:56.46 while Breno Correia, who led from start to finish won the Youth II in a time of 1:53.21.

Fernanda Goeij had another spectacular day. Although she did not set a championship record, as she did on the first day, she took both the 200 backstroke and 400 IM in the girls’ Youth I category. Goeij won the 200 backstroke in a time of 2:20.80 almost seven seconds ahead of the field and posted a 5:04.08 in the 400 IM.

Beatriz Lima won the girls’ Youth II 200 backstroke recording a time of 2:21.89 while Joao Victor Pena won the boys’ Youth I event in a time of 2:08.98.

In the boys’ Youth II event John Paul Andrade and Pedro Azeved had a riveting battle. Azeved held a slight lead until the final 50 meters when Andrade out touched him by four one-hundredths of a second.

Julia da Cruz took the girls’ Youth I 100 butterfly in a time of 1:05.79 nine one-hundredths of a second ahead of Maria Clara Tirulli who hit the wall in a time of 1:05.88.

Clarissa Rodrigues won the girls’ Youth II 100 butterfly posting a time of 1:01.52. Heitmann challenged for her second gold of the day, but fell just short recording a time of 1:01.97.

Victor Hugo took the boys’ Youth I 100 butterfly in a time of 59.32 while Gabriel Ferreira won the Youth II event in a time of 55.95.

Fernanada Bernardo won the girls’ Youth II 400 IM in a time of 5:10.65.

Matheus Pereira took the boys’ Youth I 400 IM touching in a time of 4:46.75 while Caio Pumputis won the Youth II in a time of 4:34.48.

The Pinheiros separated themselves from the others in the team standings with 230 points. The Corinthians are the next closest team with 172 points.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Jeff Grace

Jeff Grace

Jeff is a 500 hour registered yoga teacher who holds diplomas in Coaching (Douglas College) and High Performance Coaching (National Coaching Institute - Calgary). He has a background of over 20 years in the coaching profession, where he has used a unique and proven teaching methodology to help many achieve their …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!