Harvard to Host 2018 Women’s Ivy League Championships

The Harvard Crimson women’s swimming & diving team will host the 2018 Ivy League Championships at the Blodgett Pool. This will be Harvard’s 2nd time in 3 years hosting the event – they also hosted the 2015 women’s championship.

The Blodgett Pool has a 9 lane, 50-meter pool and a separate 14-lane 25-yard pool. It has permanent spectator seating for 1,200 and room for an additional 500 athletes, coaches, and officials on deck. The pool, opened in 1978, hosted the 1980 NCAA Men’s Championships.

Last year, in Providence, Harvard finished 2nd, 90.5 points behind the champions Yale. In a momentous performances, the Yale women set 12 school and 5 Ivy League records en route to victory.

That was Yale’s 6th total Ivy League championship and 4th outright title. Princeton leads the conference all-time with 22 titles (18 outright), and Havard ranks second with 12 titles (9 outright). Harvard last won the title in 2016.

The women’s championship will be held February 14th-17th, with the men’s championship heading to Princeton a week later. The Ivy League Championship is unique among Division I conferences in that the 1000 free is swum as a scoring event. The Ivies also don’t dive platform at their conference championship meet.

Leave a Reply

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!