Great Britain Triumps at Home in FINA Diving World Series Action

by SwimSwam 0

May 20th, 2019 Diving, News

Courtesy: FINA

The FINA/CNSG Diving World Series 2019 concluded on Sunday May 19 in London, Great Britain, as national heroes Jack Laugher, Thomas Daley, Matthew Lee, Daniel Goodfellow, Eden Cheng, Lois Toulson and Grace Reid clinched three gold, one silver and two bronze medals on offer to join Team China and Australia at the top of the chart.

Olympic champion (in the 3m synchro) Jack Laugher was the best in the individual men’s 3m springboard with 562.65 points, while teammate Daniel Goodfellow secured the silver medal with 500.55 points. Wang Zongyuan of China closed the podium with 481.70 points.

Two Chinese divers, Yang Hao (559.15) and Lian Junjie (532.10), prevailed in the men’s platform event, while Olympic and World champion Daley clinched the bronze medal with 525.25 points.

Daley did not stop there and also won the 10m synchro event with partner Matthew Lee, as the pair earned an impressive score of 477.90 points for their dives.

However, as expected, China’s duo Wang Zongyuan / Wu Luxian claimed victory in the 3m synchro (418.68), while Team China came second in the 10m synchro with Lian Junjie / Yang Hao (459.00). Russia took silver in the 3m with Nikitia Shleikher / Evgenii Kuznetsov (417.12) and bronze in the 10m with Viktor Minibaev / Aleksandr Bondar (448.50).

Australia’s Maddison Keeney was the star of the women’s competition in London. She clinched the 3m gold with 368.30 points, and was also the best in the synchro 3m, together with partner Anabelle Smith, as they scored a strong 323.70 points. Keeney maintained her top form in the mixed 3m as she also grabbed the silver at stake with partner Domonic Bedggood (322.14).

Jennifer Abel of Canada (353.05) and Nur Dhabitah Binti Sabri of Malaysia (344.40) took silver and bronze in the women’s 3m in this order, while  the 10m platform was an exclusively-Asian podium: Chen Yuxi from China for the gold with an excellent 413.80, Zhang Minjie (CHN) for the silver in 385.80 and DPR Korea Kim Mi Rae claimed the bronze in 360.90.

The latter pocketed the 10m synchro silver medal with partner Jo Jin Mi (327.24), while China came first (Yuan Haoyan / Chen Yuxi, 334.92) and Great Britain’s Cheng Eden / Lois Toulson closed the podium (284.76).

Chang Yani / Lin Shan (CHN) settled for silver in the women’s 3m synchro (316.77) in front of the Canadian pair composed of Jennifer Abel / Melissa Citrini Beaulieu (306.45).

Grace Reid and Thomas Daley highlighted the mixed 3m with their impressive performance as they clinched gold with 322.89 points. Behind the British pair the podium was graced by the Australians and the Canadians Jennifer Abel / Francois Imbeau-Dulac (319.02) in this order.

Team China came back to the top in the mixed 10m, as Zhang Minjie / Duan Yu accumulated 356.28 points for gold, and Jo Jin Mi / Hyon II Myong (PRK, 333.48) and Iiliia Timoshinina / Nikita Shleikher (RUS, 316.05) followed.

You can read detailed news reports on FINA website and the results are available here or on FINA mobile app.

You can also re-watch the competition in VoD on FINAtv.

Medalists in London (GBR):

3m springboard: 1. Jack Laugher (GBR) 562.65; 2. Daniel Goodfellow (GBR) 500.55; 3. Wang Zongyuan (CHN) 481.70
10m platform: 1. Yang Hao (CHN) 559.15; 2. Lian Junjie (CHN) 532.10; 3. Thomas Daley (GBR) 525.25
3m springboard synchro: 1. Wang Zongyuan / Wu Luxian (CHN) 418.68; 2. Nikitia Shleikher / Evgenii Kuznetsov (RUS) 417.12; 3. Oleksandr Gorshkovozov / Oleg Kolodiy (UKR) 405.63
10m platform synchro: 1. Thomas Daley / Matthew Lee (GBR) 477.90; 2. Lian Junjie / Yang Hao (CHN) 459.00; 3. Viktor Minibaev / Aleksandr Bondar (RUS) 448.50

3m springboard: 1. Maddison Keeney (AUS) 368.30; 2. Jennifer Abel (CAN) 353.05; 3. Nur Dhabitah Binti Sabri (MAS) 344.40
10m platform: 1. Chen Yuxi (CHN) 413.80; 2. Zhang Minjie (CHN) 385.80; 3. Kim Mi Rae (PRK) 360.90
3m springboard synchro: 1. Maddison Keeney / Anabelle Smith (AUS) 323.70; 2. Chang Yani / Lin Shan (CHN) 316.77; 3. Jennifer Abel / Melissa Citrini Beaulieu (CAN) 306.45
10m platform synchro: 1. Yuan Haoyan / Chen Yuxi (CHN) 334.92; 2. Kim Mi Rae / Jo Jin Mi (PRK) 327.24; 3. Cheng Eden / Lois Toulson (GBR) 284.76

3m springboard synchro: 1. Grace Reid / Thomas Daley (GBR) 322.89; 2. Maddison Keeney / Domonic Bedggood (AUS) 322.14; 3. Jennifer Abel / Francois Imbeau-Dulac (CAN) 319.02
10m platform synchro: 1. Zhang Minjie / Duan Yu (CHN) 356.28; 2. Jo Jin Mi / Hyon II Myong (PRK) 333.48; 3. Iiliia Timoshinina / Nikita Shleikher (RUS) 316.05

FINA/CNSG Diving World Series 2019 calendar (completed):

1. Sagamihara (JPN): March 1-3
2. Beijing (CHN): March 7-9
3. Montreal (CAN): April 26-28
4. Kazan (RUS): May 10-12
5. London (GBR): May 17-19

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments