Georgia Tech’s Camryn Hidalgo Named Honda Inspiration Award Finalist

by SwimSwam 0

June 02nd, 2021 College

Courtesy: Georgia Tech Athletics

THE FLATS – Georgia Tech’s Camryn Hidalgo was selected among the three finalists for the 2021 Honda Inspiration Award, as announced by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA).

An Inspiration Award winner has been selected annually for the past 33 years. The Honda Inspiration Award is given to a deserving female student-athlete in Division I, II or III who has experienced extraordinary physical and/or emotional adversity, injury and/or illness, or experienced extraordinary personal sacrifice during her college enrollment as a student-athlete and returns to athletic success.

One of Georgia Tech’s most prolific divers in program history, Hidalgo’s successful career did not come without adversity. A highly touted recruit, Hidalgo arrived on The Flats in 2017 and had a storybook freshman season until she suffered a season-ending injury prior to her debut at the ACC Championships. On a “1.5 – “1.5 practice dive, Hidalgo hit her head directly on the diving board, causing a severe laceration along her eye, forehead and extended into her scalp. Hidalgo underwent surgery and was eventually diagnosed with a concussion, ultimately ending her freshman season early.

After months of rehabilitation, Hidalgo returned to the boards stronger and went on to place third on the 1-meter board at the 2019 ACC Championships just a year after injury. Since her injury, Hidalgo has captured four ACC Championship medals (one gold, one silver, two bronze) and been named All-American twice. In 2020, she became the first female Yellow Jacket to qualify for NCAAs on all three boards – 1-meter, 3-meter and platform – since 2008. This past season, Hidalgo placed third in the 3m event at the 2021 NCAA Championships, marking the top finish in program history.

Hidalgo was joined by Baylor women’s basketball’s DiDi Richards and Texas’ volleyball’s Asija O’Neil as finalists.

The winner will be selected by the CWSA Board of Directors and honored with the Class of 2021. CBS Sports Network will air Defying the Odds: The 2020 & 2021 Honda Inspiration Award, on Tuesday, June 22 at 8 p.m. EST, highlighting the three 2021 finalists and the 2020 award winner, Jazzy Richards.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments