Georgia Sweeps Emory on Senior Day, Dale Clocks 21.49 50 Backstroke

Emory vs. Georgia

  • Results
  • Saturday, January 28th
  • Hosted by Georgia
  • 25 yards
  • Dual meet format


  • WOMEN – Georgia 194, Emory 99
  • MEN – Georgia 175, Emory 107

Sending off a women’s class that has won three NCAA team titles, and a men’s class that has transformed the program, the Georgia Bulldogs swept the visiting Emory Eagles, 194-99 (women) and 175-107 (men).  Chelsea Britt, Rachel Zilinskas, Caitlin Casazza, Kevin Miller, Taylor DaleMick Litherlandand James Guest all won two individual events for the Bulldogs, on a day when most of the team swam “off” events or had a limited program.  For example, Olivia Smoliga only competed in the 200 medley relay, and Chase Kalisz swam just the 100 backstroke, winning in 48.83, and two relays.

Dale had arguably the most impressive single performance of the meet, recording a 21.49 leadoff leg in the 200 medley relay, a time already good enough to lead off many teams’ relays at the NCAA Championships.  The senior later also touched first in the 50 free (20.16) and 200 backstroke (1:45.89).

Notably, U.S. National Teamer and Division III record holder Andrew Wilson won the 100 breaststroke for Emory in 54.41, and was narrowly touched out in the 200 by Georgia’s James Guest  (2:00.23 to 2:00.64).

Press Release – Georgia

ATHENS, Ga. – Following a ceremony recognizing the senior swimmers, divers and managers, Georgia’s teams swept Division III power Emory to conclude the dual meet portion of their season on Saturday at Gabrielsen Natatorium.

The No. 3-ranked Lady Bulldogs (8-1, 4-0) outscored the Lady Eagles 194-99 while the No. 4 Bulldogs (7-1, 3-0) beat the Eagles 175-107.

“I was pleased with our competitive nature today,” Georgia head coach Jack Bauerle said. “We shook some things up and the kids responded positively. SECs will be here before we know it and this helps us make some decisions. It was a great way for the seniors to wrap things up.”

Senior Rachel Zilinskas won the 500- and 1,000-yard freestyle in 4:56.63 and 9:58.49, respectively, while Caitlin Casazza won both the 200-yard butterfly (2:00.62) and the 200-yard breaststroke (2:19.92). Chelsea Britt also took home wins in the 100-yard backstroke (54.71) and the 100-yard butterfly (54.08).

Senior Chantal Van Landeghem won the 100-yard freestyle in 51.15. Sandra Scott finished first in the 200-yard freestyle in 1:49.80 and Katherine Aikins took the 50-yard freestyle in 23.50. Meryn McCann took the 200-yard backstroke in 1:58.73. Meaghan Raab won the 100-yard breaststroke in 1:03.48. Olivia Ball won the 3-meter springboard with a score of 326.33. Megan Kingsley placed first in the 200-yard individual medley in 2:01.45. Allison Greene won the 1-meter springboard with a score of 285.83.

Britt, Raab, Kingsley and Aikins combined for the first win of the meet, stopping the clock in the 200-yard medley relay in 1:42.19. Van Landeghem, Zilinskas, Emily Cameron and Kimberlee John-Williams won the 200-yard freestyle relay in 1:35.04.

For the Bulldogs, senior Taylor Dale earned two individual wins, taking the 50-yard freestyle in 20.16 and the 200-yard backstroke in 1:45.89. Kevin Miller also posted two wins, finishing first in the 500-yard freestyle in 4:29.00 and the 1,000-yard freestyle in 9:12.13. James Guest won the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:00.23 and the 200-yard individual medley in 1:52.83.

Senior Chase Kalisz won the 100-yard backstroke in 48.83. Kevin Litherland took the 200-yard freestyle in 1:38.93. Alex BeMiller posted a time of 44.93 to win the 100-yard freestyle and Mick Litherland claimed first in the 100-yard butterfly in 49.33. Mick Litherland placed first in the 200-yard butterfly in 1:47.96. Charlie Clifton posted a score of 389.40 to win the 1-meter springboard and Ian Forlini posted the top score on the 3-meter springboard (372.38).

Dale, Kalisz, Pace Clark and Chris Powell won the 200-yard medley relay in 1:27.83.

Georgia’s squads will compete in the SEC Championships in Knoxville, Tenn., Feb. 14-18, followed by the NCAA Zone Diving and NCAA Championships in March.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 years ago

Who is Clark?

About Morgan Priestley

Morgan Priestley

A Stanford University and Birmingham, Michigan native, Morgan Priestley started writing for SwimSwam in February 2013 on a whim, and is loving that his tendency to follow and over-analyze swim results can finally be put to good use. Morgan swam competitively for 15+ years, primarily excelling in the mid-distance freestyles. While …

Read More »