Gator Freshmen Rooney, Sargent Named Most Outstanding At All-FL Invite


On the final night of the 2016 All-Florida Invite, Florida freshman Maxime Rooney picked up his first-ever collegiate win in the men’s 200 back, clocking a time of 1:47.63. That performance helped Rooney, who picked up a total of 101 points, earn the Most Outstanding Male Award for the meet.

On top of his individual races tonight, Rooney played a key role in Florida’s 400 free relay, leading them off in 44.93 to help the team to a narrow victory over host Nova Southeastern. Mark Szaranek anchored the relay in 44.69 to hold off a hard-charging Thiago Sickert (44.51), giving the Gators the win with a 3:02.39 to Nova’s 3:02.58.

Another Florida freshman, Makayla Sargent, won the Most Outstanding Female Award with 102 total points. Sargent was a back-to-back event winner on day 1, garnering several top 3 finishes throughout the meet. Tonight, she picked up a pair of 3rd place finishes in the 1650 free (17:06.55) and 200 breast (2:23.03).

In the overall team battle, Florida won on both the men’s and women’s sides. Rooney wasn’t their only freshman to earn a first collegiate victory tonight, as Georgia Darwent won the women’s mile, posting the only sub-17:00 time to finish in 16:52.53.

The Miami women picked up a couple of wins to move themselves ahead of FGCU for 2nd place in the overall team battle. Julie Suarez won the individual 100 free (51.32) before helping the Hurricanes to 400 free relay victory in 3:25.97 to close the meet.

Second place in the men’s team rankings went to Nova Southeastern, with the Sharks picking up another pair of wins. Anton Lobanov completed the sweep of the breaststroke races, winning the 200 breast in 2:02.96. Thiago Sickert earned his 3rd individual victory of the meet with his 45.18 in the men’s 100 free.

Other Event Winners:

  • Men’s 1650 Free- Ben Lawless (UF), 15:37.56
  • Women’s 200 Back- Alyssa Yambor-Maul (UF), 2:01.67
  • Women’s 200 Breast- Malin Westman (NSU), 2:19.08
  • Women’s 200 Fly- Alyssa Yambor-Maul (UF), 2:01.41
  • Men’s 200 Fly- Mark Szaranek (UF), 1:52.21

Final Women’s Team Scores:

  1. Florida- 1076
  2. Miami- 744
  3. FGCU- 692
  4. Nova Southeastern- 617
  5. Keiser University- 38

Final Men’s Team Scores:

  1. Florida- 1099
  2. Nova Southeastern- 894
  3. Keiser University- 578

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Does he get a high point trophy?

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »