Fordham Men/Women Pick Up Pair Of Wins Against Fairfield

by SwimSwam 0

November 11th, 2017 College, NCAA Division I Mid-Major

Meet Results

  • November 11, 2017
  • Fairfield, Connecticut
  • Meet Results
  • Score
    • MEN: Fordham 188, Fairfield 92
    • WOMEN: Fordham 171, Fairfield 117

Press Release

Courtesy of Fordham Athletics

The Fordham swimming & diving teams made the quick trek up I-95 to face the Fairfield Stags on Friday, coming up with a pair of victories.  The men defeated the Stags, 188-92, while the women came away with a 171-117 win in Fairfield’s short course meter pool.

The Fordham men won 12 events on the night with three dual event winners.  Senior Ethan D’Arcangelo won the 100 SCM backstroke in 1:01.08 and the 200 SCM individual medley in 2:16.30, while junior Isiah Magsino took home the 200 SCM breaststroke in 2:27.97 and the 100 SCM butterfly in 58.76 seconds.  Junior Christopher Craig was the final dual event winner, taking both diving event with scores of 228.45 (1M) and 221.70 (3M).

Other individual winners included Danny McGowan (800 SCM freestyle – 8:43.19), Joe Mercurio (1:08.05), Travis Monahan (50 SCM freestyle – 23.95) and Nathaniel Guenther (200 SCM backstroke – 2:14.47).  In relay action, Fordham’s team of Auston Ramsay, Monahan, Tommy Christensen, and Mercurio won the 200 SCM medley relay in 1:45.62, while Jack MadiganBryce BollesenLucas Keh, and McGowan placed first in the 200 SCM freestyle relay in 1:38.45.

Over on the women’s side, Fordham won 10 events overall, led by freshman Michelle Martin and sophomore Molly Dunn.  Martin was a dual event winner in the 100 SCM (1:06.53) and 200 SCM (2:27.99) backstroke events, while Dunn won both diving events with scores of 244.20 (1M) and 231.75 (3M).

Other individual winners on Friday included Erin McBride in the 800 SCM freestyle (9:23.96), Tara Brunner in the 50 SCM freestyle (27.07), Nele Albers in the 200 SCM breaststroke (2:40.59), and Hannah McGee in the 200 SCM individual medley (2:24.64). In realy action, the Rams’ team of Caitlin McNaryGabrielle Celia, Martin, and Brunner won the 200 SCM medley relay in 2:00.88, with Samantha McDonaldPaulina Watson, Albers, and Noelle Theodoulou combining to post the top time in the 200 SCM freestyle relay in 1:50.88.

The Fordham swimming & diving team will next be in action on November 17-19, when the Rams compete at the Bucknell Invitational in Lewisburg, Pa.

Press Release

Courtesy of Fairfield Athletics

Although both the men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams had strong performances in the pool today, they ultimately fell to Fordham University.  The women were defeated by a score of 171-117 and 188-92 for the men.

On the women’s side, Sarah Herbold tallied three event wins on the day.  She won the 200 Meter Freestyle with a final time of 2:08.55 and the 100 Meter Freestyle clocking in at 59.74.  She finished the day with a victory in the 100 Meter Butterfly finishing at 1:06.08.  Victoria Krivitsky also won the 100 Meter Breaststroke with a time of 1:15.89.

Sara Ostensen had her second record breaking meet in a row winning two events and setting new program records in each of them.  She won the 200 Meter Butterfly with a time of 2:21.46 surpassing her own record that she set last week of 2:22.80.  She also took home the win in the 400 Meter Freestyle clocking in at 4:28.05 eclipsing the previous record of 4:31.87 set by Michelle Yoshida in 2009.

The relay team comprising of Maria NittiSarah HerboldKelly Cordes, and Sara Ostensen also won the 200 Meter Freestyle Relay setting a new program record with a time of 1:50.98 which surpassed the record of 1:51.90 that this same relay team of swimmers set just two weeks ago against Monmouth.

On the men’s side, both Benjamin Kebbell and Jordan Rahurahueach won two events and set new program records.  Kebbell won the 200 Meter Freestyle setting a record with a time of 1:57.39 breaking the previous record of 1:57.61 set by Cody Parker in 2012.  He also won the 100 Meter Freestyle with a time of 53.14.

Rahurahu won the 400 Meter Freestyle with a time of 4:12.62 which broke the old record of 4:13.41 set by Cody Parker in 2012.  He also won the 400 Meter Freestyle clocking in at 2:10.39.

Kebbell, Ian Nelson, Phillip Zyskowski, and Rahurahu also won the 200 Meter Freestyle Relay finishing with a final time of 1:38.77.

“We competed really well tonight against a tough program” said Head Coach Anthony Bruno. “We saw some great performances from different people in different events. We keep throwing new challenges at the team and they continue to respond the right way and embrace it.

The Stags will travel to Poughkeepsie, N.Y. to take on Marist in their second MAAC contest of the season on Saturday, November 10 at 5 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments