Donna Depolo Earns OT Cut in 100 Breast on Day 2 of Mt. Hood Futures

by Madeleine Lepesant 1

August 03rd, 2019 Club, National, News


  • August 1-4th
  • Hood, OR
  • Long Course Meters (LCM)
  • Results on MeetMobile, search “2019 Futures Championship – Mt Hood”

On the 2nd day of the 2019 Mt. Hood Futures Championships outside of Oregon, there was one new Olympic Trials qualifier. Donna Depolo took the title in the 100 breast in a time of 1:10.56. This swim was her second fastest of the meet, after she completed her prelims swim in 1:10.38, earning her an Olympic Trial cut in the heats. Depolo is set to swim the 200 breast and the 200 IM later in the meet, where she is seeded 18th and 35th respectively.

Depolo is a rising junior at the University of Nevada, whose is primarily a breaststroker/IMer. She’s part of a rising breaststroking group at Nevada that next year is getting an incoming transfer from CCSA Champion Gianni Pitto.

Natalie Bercutt finished second, narrowly missing the Trials cut by .02. Her time of 1:11.01 was a 2.72 second improvement from her best time going into the meet.

Day 2 finals of the 2019 Mt. Hood Futures meet kicked off on Saturday night with the 200 free. Lily Gardner won the women’s race in a time of 2:03.24, an improvement of 0.81 from her previous best time. Finishing a close second was Kathryn Krolikowski (2:03.75) and Elizabeth Cook touched soon after (2:04.00) for the bronze medal.
Zachary Van Zandt won the men’s event, touching 1.27 seconds ahead of second place finisher Daniel Ilin.

The men’s 100 breast featured a tight race with only .41 seconds separating the first and third place finishers. Tom Higdon ultimately took the title (1:04.17), followed by Justin Lum (1:04.47), and Jackson Mason (1:04.58).

Bainbridge Island Swim Club’s Eleanor Beers won the 100 fly in a time of 1:01.86, knocking 1.09 seconds off her previous time. Beers out touched prelims top-seed Elizabeth Cook (1:01.94).

In a similar fashion, Patrick Park (54.88) and Patrick Keough (55.08) out touched top seed Zachary Van Zandt (55.15). The three men will have additional chances to face-off, as they are all entered in the 50 and 100 free.

Kathryn Krolikowski returned to the blocks for her victory in the 400 IM (4:54.36), with a 2.07 drop. She finished three seconds ahead of second place finisher Ella Kirschke (4:57.35) who also dropped over two seconds. Delaney Smith was the third and final sub-5 minute finisher, clocking in at 4:59.80.

Davis Taylor took first for the men in a time of 4:29.84, 1.6 seconds ahead of Marco Nosack who took 5.44 seconds off to go a 4:31.41.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago