Diving Stars Kick Off 2019 Season in Japan

by SwimSwam 0

February 28th, 2019 Diving, News

The 2019 FINA/CNSG Diving World Series, a competition exclusively open to the world’s diving elite, with numerous World and Olympic champions taking part, will kick-off tomorrow in Sagamihara (JPN, March 1-3), one of the two new hosts of this year’s circuit which is expected to see over 260 divers throughout the season. The Series provides an additional opportunity for the divers to prepare for the 18th FINA World Championships 2019 in Gwangju (KOR) and the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, offering worldwide visibility through the broadcast agreements in place.

The initial leg of the Series will be highlighted by the participation of the sport’s biggest names: Chinese stars Cao Yuan, Xie Siyi, Chen Aisen, Shi Tingmao and Ren Qian are amongst the ones to watch for. Canada’s strong delegation is going to be headlined by Jennifer Abel, Pamela Ware and Meaghan Benfeito, while Francois Imbeau-Dulac and Philippe Gagne are also attending. Evgenii Kuznetsov, Nikita Shleikher, Aleksandr Bondar and Iuliia Timoshinina will represent Russia. Great Britain’s most famous diver Thomas Daley will of course take the plunge and will be joined by, but not only, Jack Laugher, Lois Toulson and Grace Reid.

Mexico is another potential medal contender with Rommel Pacheco and the DPR Korean heroes Mi Rae Kim and Il Myong Hyon could steal the show too. Germany’s hero Patrick Hausding is also present, while Malaysia’s idol Pandelela Rinong will be fighting for top positions in Japan. From France, Benjamin Auffret is the man to beat, and Australia and USA will have in Anabelle Smith and Krysta Palmer, respectively, their main assets. Finally, Japan will try to shine at home with a strong 13-diver delegation, including sounding names such as Hiroki Ito, Sho Sakai and Ken Terauchi.

The 2019 circuit will then move to Beijing (CHN) on March 7-9. The last three meets will be held in Montreal (CAN, April 26-28), Kazan (RUS, May 10-12) and London (GBR, May 17-19), as the British capital comes back on the circuit after hosting a leg of the Series in 2015.

There are 10 events on the program, dispatched as follows:

Day 1 (March 1)
Women’s 10m Synchro
Men’s 10m Synchro
Women’s 3m Synchro
Men’s 3m Synchro

Day 2 (March 2)
Women’s 10m Platform
Men’s 3m Springboard
Mixed 10m Synchro

Day 3 (March 3)
Women’s 3m Springboard
Men’s 10m Platform
Mixed 3m Synchro

The total prize money available for this 13th edition of the Series is USD 1.57 million. Only divers taking part in all five legs are eligible for the overall prize money.

Since the inception of the event, China is the dominating force as Chinese divers have won 49 medals, while 12 nations have shared the podium throughout the years. Russia and Canada are the other two best nations to watch for.

Diving World Series 2019 calendar:

1. Sagamihara (JPN): March 1-3

2. Beijing (CHN): March 7-9

3. Montreal (CAN): April 26-28

4. Kazan (RUS): May 10-12

5. London (GBR): May 17-19

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments