Dad’s Club Wins Inaugural Wally Pryor Distinguished Team Award in Texas

Braden Keith
by Braden Keith 2

December 09th, 2014 Club, News

The Dad’s Club Swim Team in Houston, Texas has been honored as the inaugural recipients of the “Wally Pryor Distinguished Team Award,” and will be permanently memorialized in the Texas Swimming & Diving Hall of Fame at the Lee & Joe Jamail Texas Swim Center in Austin.

The award is designed to honor the great clubs in the state’s history, and the Dad’s Club has fit that bill for almost 70 years. A different team will be honored by the TSDHOF every year, and the trophy will rotate to the year’s honoree.

The team were the 1980 Men’s, Women’s and Combined YMCA National Champions and the 1981 YMCA National Champions. The club was the starting point for such coaches as Jay Fitzgerald and 6-time U.S. Olympic Team  Richard Quick.

Under the leadership of current head coach Rey Aguilar, the program continues to thrive in Western Houston, and will send at least three swimmers to NCAA Division I programs next fall. That includes Alexandra Buscher, who will swim for Texas A&M.

Read more about the Dad’s Club Swim Team’s long and impressive history here.
Read more about the Wally Pryor Award here.

Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

sweet that’s right down the road from me, I know ray. way to go dads club.


Rey is a great guy and a class act… The club is in great hands

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »