Calypso Sheridan Sets Two Northwestern Records to Close TYR Invitational


  • Friday-Sunday, November 22nd-24th
  • Evanston, IL
  • Short Course Yards
  • Live Results



  1. Northwestern – 1404
  2. Toledo – 669
  3. Saint Louis – 528
  4. UNLV – 300
  5. Simon Fraser – 198
  6. Northern Iowa – 74


  1. Northwestern – 1145
  2. Saint Louis 607
  3. UNLV – 583
  4. Simon Fraser – 440

Northwestern freshman Hannah Brunzell looks to have locked up an NCAA invite in the 200 breast with her winning time of 2:08.61 tonight. Earlier this weekend, Brunzell also broke the minute mark in the 100, and she’s already a powerful contributor to the program a few months into her rookie campaign. Her time is less than a second off of Calypso Sheridan‘s program record of 2:07.98; her 59.76 in the 100 yesterday was within two-tenths of the Wildcat record.

Sheridan, meanwhile, went ahead and took down a program record herself. She’s been swimming off-events this weekend, and in the 200 fly, her winning time of 1:56.91 was her second time under two minutes ever and a new program record, erasing Ellen Stello’s 1:57.82 from 2017. Her versatility is remarkable; she holds records in the 200 fly, 200 breast, 200 back, 200 IM, and 400 IM at Northwestern individually.

The Wildcat women took down a program record from 2008 in the 400 free relay, with their A relay touching at 3:18.00 followed by their B in 3:20.15. On the record-breaking relay, Sheridan was 49.31 leading off, followed by Malorie Han (50.22), Maddie Smith turning in the field’s best split (48.93), and Nicole Aarts (49.54). On the B relay, freshman Ally Larson had a stand-out 49.23 split, so that record probably will not survive the season.

In the men’s 200 back, a great race came to fruition between UNLV freshman Panos Bolanos and Northwestern sophomore Manu Bacarizo. Bolanos, a Greek national, made up a four-tenths deficit by out-splitting Bacarizo on the final 50 by eight-tenths. Setting a UNLV record, Bolanos touched at 1:42.22 with Bacarizo just back at 1:42.49.

In the 200 breast, for the men, freshman Marcus Mok dropped over four seconds from his morning time to go 1:56.85 and win. Fellow freshman Ben Miller dominated the 200 fly, the only finisher under 1:48 to win it at 1:45.94.

The Northwestern women dominated the 200 back, with all three women going well under NCAA ‘B’ cuts. Senior Aarts led the way with a 1:55.85, followed by freshman Emma Lepisova (1:55.89) and senior Krystal Lara (1:56.18). Aarts and Lepisova went lifetime bests; Aarts by a couple of tenths, and Lepisova by almost two full seconds. Toledo’s Izzy Jones was close behind at 1:56.92 for fourth.

In the 400 free relay, the Northwestern men closed the meet with a 1-2 finish. Their A relay won in 2:56.99 as their B touched second in 2:59.84, also cracking three minutes. The top split came from Liam Gately, 43.91 anchoring the A, while Andrew Zhang led off in 44.29.


  • Northwestern’s Ilektra Lebl was the only woman under seventeen minutes in the mile, winning it in a time of 16:49.07.
  • The women’s 100 free came down to a very tight finish. Northwestern’s Malorie Han had the most speed coming home over the back 50, touching at 50.50 to knock off UNLV’s Katsiaryna Afanasyeva (50.52) and Han’s teammate Smith (50.56).
  • UNLV post-grad Forrest Beesley came away with the win in the men’s 100 free, posting a 43.61 to edge UNLV junior Richard Szilagyi (44.31).
  • Northwestern’s DJ Hwang won the men’s mile at 15:15.52.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »