8 Water Polo Teams Join Malta For FINA Water Polo Development Trophy

by SwimSwam 0

October 15th, 2017 Water Polo

Press Release courtesy of FINA

The 6th edition of the FINA World Men’s Water Polo Development Trophy kicks-off tomorrow October 17 in Gzira (MLT).

The competition will welcome eight promising teams for a six-day tournament until October 22.

The composition of the two groups is as follows:

GROUP A: Tunisia, Uruguay, Iran, Malta

GROUP B: Peru, Singapore, Austria, Saudi Arabia

With four games played each day, the competition schedule unfolds as follows:

On the last competition day, all matches must be played to a conclusion so the Water Polo Rules for a Penalty Shootout might need to be applied.

With this event, first launched ten years ago and held every odd year, FINA intends to promote water polo on a global scale, especially in countries where the sport has not matched its full development.

The last edition back in 2015 in Tehran (IRI) was won by the host country team, while Uruguay took silver and Austria bronze. Uzbekistan won the 2013 edition of the Development Trophy in Kuwait City, Egypt and Saudi Arabia came second and third respectively.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments