17 Current and Former Florida Gators Set for 2015 World Championships

KAZAN, Russia — Four student-athletes from the University of Florida men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams will represent the Gators at the 2015 FINA World Championships from Aug. 2 – Aug. 9, inside Kazan Arena.

On the men’s side, senior Corey Main, junior Mitch D’Arrigo, and sophomore Jan Switkowski are set to represent the Blue and Orange. Sophomore Theresa Michalak and Senior Jess Thielmann will also compete on the women’s end.

UF associate head coach Anthony Nesty will be on deck, coaching not only UF swimmers, but the Venezuelan team as well throughout the week-long championship.

In addition to UF’s current student-athletes, 12 former Gators are also set to participate in next week’s competition. Elizabeth BeiselMarcin Cieslak, Connor Dwyer, Ryan Lochte, Jemma Lowe, Hilda Luthersdottir, Carlos Omana, Sebastien Rousseau, Melani Costa Schmid, and Dan Wallace will also take part in next week’s competition.

Furthermore, two members from the Gator Swim Club — Alex Gomez and Andreina Pinto — will also compete at the championship event.


“It’s always a tremendous opportunity when our student-athletes get the chance to represent their home countries. It’s an honor for them; not only to continue developing as Gators, but also as competitors individually in their careers. We’re looking forward to some good swims and honored to have everyone competing.”


Seven current and former Gators are set to compete at the FINA World Championships:

  • Elizabeth Beisel (American team member in 2008 Beijing Olympics, silver and bronze medalist in London 2012)
  • Melani Costa Schmid (Spanish team member at 2008 Beijing Olympics and 2012 London Olympics)
  • Connor Dwyer (American gold medalist at the 2012 London Olympics)
  • Ryan Lochte (Five-time American gold medalist: 2004; 2008; 2012)
  • Jemma Lowe (British team member at 2008 Beijing Olympics and 2012 London Olympics)
  • Theresa Michalak (German team member at 2012 London Olympics)
  • Sebastien Rousseau (South African team member at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, 2012 London Olympics)


  • A record 2,651 athletes from 190 countries confirmed their participation in the 2015 FINA World Championships.
  • TheFINA World Championshipsor World Aquatics Championships are the World Championships for Aquatics sports: SwimmingDivingOpen Water SwimmingSynchronized Swimming and Water Polo.
  • They are run byFINA, and all Swimming events are contested in along course (50-meter) pool.
  • The event was first held in 1973 and is now held every two years.
  • The United State of America leads all countries with 214 gold medals, and 499 total medals. China is in second with

103 gold medals, and 231 total medals.

2015 FINA World Championship Competitors and Their Home Countries

Name Country
Theresa Michalak Germany
Jemma Lowe Great Britain
Dan Wallace Great Britain
Jess Thielmann Great Britain
Hilda Luthersdottir Iceland
Mitch D’Arrigo Italy
Corey Main New Zealand
Marcin Cieslak Poland
Jan Switkowski Poland
Sebastien Rousseau South Africa
Melani Costa Schmid Spain
Elizabeth Beisel USA
Conor Dwyer USA
Ryan Lochte USA
Carlos Omana Venezuela
Alex Gomez Venezuela
Andreina Pinto Venezuela

Swimming news courtesy of Florida Swimming & Diving.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »