WPWL 2016: USA, Australia, Canada & Brazil Qualify to Super Final

Powerhouse USA remained unbeaten over the six-day FINA Water Polo World League Intercontinental Tournament in Lewisville, Texas (USA) from February 16-21.

The Americans, together with Australia, Canada and Brazil qualified for the Super Final to be held in Shanghai (CHN) from June 7-12. China is automatically qualified as the host nation of the tournament, leaving Japan the only team not making it to Shanghai.

On the final competition day in the Texan city, Brazil beat Japan 9-8 (2-1, 3-2, 2-2, 2-3), while China defeated Canada 10-6 (1-2, 1-3, 2-1, 2-3). In the match for the gold medal, the USA played Australia and won 6-5 thank to their lead in the two first quarters (3-0, 1-3, 1-1, 1-1).

The final ranking is as follows:
1. USA
2. AUS
3. CHN
4. CAN
5. BRA
6. JPN

Current FINA Best Water Polo Team member Maggie Steffens (USA) was awarded MVP, while Kelsey Wakefield (AUS) was designated Best Goalkeeper.

Top scorers of the tournament were Rowie Webster (AUS) and McKenzie Fischer (USA) for 13 goals each.

Swimming news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona and the University of Florida. While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She is now coaching for Loggerhead Aquatics in her hometown …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!