Will Licon: I don’t do any of this for myself (Video)

Produced by Coleman Hodges.

Reported by Jared Anderson.


  • NCAA Record: David Nolan, Stanford, 1:39.38
  • American Record: David Nolan, Stanford, 1:39.38
  • U.S. Open Record: David Nolan, Stanford, 1:39.38
  • Pool Record: Ryan Lochte, 1:40.08
  • 2015 Champion: David Nolan, Stanford, 1:39.38

Top 3:

  1. Will Licon, Texas – 1:40.04
  2. Josh Prenot, Cal – 1:40.14
  3. Ryan Murphy, Cal – 1:40.27

There is something in the air here in Atlanta. It was tight race between California’s Josh Prenot, Ryan Murphy, and Texas’ Will Licon, but Licon managed to get his hand on the wall first. His time also bumps him ahead of Ryan Lochte, giving him the second fastest performance in history and the pool record. Licon’s 200 IM is Texas’ fourth NCAA title in as many events.

Prenot and Murphy finished second and third at 1:40.14 and 1:40.27, respectively. On the other side of the pool, Florida’s Jan Switkowski reached in for fourth, finishing with a final time of 1:41.36.

Brigham Young’s Jake Taylor won the B final with his time of 1:42.82, dropping nearly half a second from his morning swim.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
E. Cartman
4 years ago

Kristaps is our Longhorns’ secret weapon. Latvian thunder is in the air.

Not Andrew Wilson
Reply to  E. Cartman
4 years ago

Thunder Down Under. Onions son!

4 years ago

He does it all for little julie

About Coleman Hodges

Coleman Hodges

Coleman started his journey in the water at age 1, and although he actually has no memory of that, something must have stuck. A Missouri native, he joined the Columbia Swim Club at age 9, where he is still remembered for his stylish dragon swim trunks. After giving up on …

Read More »